LibGuides: Criminal Justice : Articles/Databases

How to Use NewsBank Databases with Suggested Topics

NewsBank Access World News This link opens in a new window
Includes both current and archived international, national, regional, and local news content from more than 13,800 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories (backfiles begin in the 1980s).
NewsBank Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
Offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this primary source collection offers multiple perspectives on the people, issues, and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversation about race, equity and diversity. This database is updated daily and is sourced from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including 400 African American publications.
NewsBank Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals
NewsBank South Carolina News Sources This link opens in a new window
Provides access to selected, or in some cases all, content from over 100 South Carolina newspapers and other news sources from around the state. Includes some content from the following PTC area papers: The Edgefield Advertiser, The Index-Journal, The Newberry Observer, Saluda Standard Sentinel.

How to Search Databases

Please watch the following short video by the Steely Library at Northern Kentucky University to learn how to search for articles in a library database like Criminal Abstracts with Full Text and use the filter options to narrow you search results.

If you find yourself doom scrolling through search results or having trouble finding information on your topic, it's time to talk to a librarian!

Steely Library NKU. (2019, December 3). JUS Research Methods: Criminal Justice Databases [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uzT0N92u6d0.

Search Criminal Justice Journals Online

Criminal Justice Ethics
John Jay College of Criminal Justice. Institute for Criminal Justice Ethics.

Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
Journal of International Criminal Justice
Oxford University Press.

Aims to promote a profound collective reflection on the new problems facing international law.
American Journal of Criminal Justice: The Journal of the Southern Criminal Justice Association
Focuses on criminal justice topics & issues, including the criminal justice process, interplay between system components, problems & solutions, innovative practices, policy development & implementation, evaluative research, & other related interests.

Search for Articles in These Databases:

If you are unsure of where to start or are having difficulty finding articles related to your topic, please refer to the Need Help? tab and chat with a librarian!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers most academic topics including biology, business, chemistry, education, engineering, law, mathematics, music, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, religion, theology, and more.
Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students, the database covers subjects as wide-ranging as: computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, welding and dozens more equally varied areas of study.
Criminal Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database contains more than 400,000 records selected from the most important sources within this discipline. Subjects include: criminology, criminal justice, criminal law and procedure, corrections and prisons, police and policing, forensic sciences, and many more.
Index to Legal Periodicals & Books Full Text (H. W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Provides complete coverage of the most important English-language legal information, including access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews and more.
International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database is designed to inform the analysis process and to enhance the general study of security and terrorism-related issues. It contains hundreds of full-text journals, hundreds of thousands of selected articles, news feeds, reports, books, and more.
South Carolina Code of Laws (1976, unannotated, with updates) This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the unannotated text of the 1976 South Carolina Code of Laws, with updates. NOTE: The official version of the SC Code of Laws is the print version which is updated yearly. Read Disclaimer on the landing page for more information.
NOTE: Every effort was made by the state agencies preparing this website to ensure its accuracy. However, "... the state agencies ... and the General Assembly are not responsible for any errors or omissions which may occur in these files." "The 1976 South Carolina Code, consisting only of Code text, numbering, history, and Effect of Amendment, Editor's, and Code Commissioner's notes may be copied from this website at the reader's expense and effort without need for permission"-- (from the Disclaimer on the website).

Search Print Journals at the Greenwood Library

The library keeps current subscriptions to the following print journals at the Greenwood campus library:

Corrections Today
Library keeps the current 3 years.
Law & Order
Library keeps the current 5 years.
Police Chief
Library keeps the current 5 years.