The following is a partial list of subject headings for criminal justice topics:
Search any of these terms in the library's Online Catalog search box below:
The following are some Library of Congress call number browsing areas for Criminal Justice. Use them to search the general collection in the stacks at the Greenwood campus library.
HV 1-5840----Social pathology
HV 6001-6030----Criminology-general
HV 6035-6079----Criminal anthropology
HV 6080-6113----Criminal psychology
HV 6115-6118----Causes of crime
HV 6121-6143----Crime & heredity
HV 6150-6249----Crime-environment
HV 6250----Victims of crime
HV 6251-7220----Crimes & offenses
HV 7231-9960----Criminal justice administration
You may place a request through PASCAL Delivers in the Online Catalog (link below) by limited the scope of your search results to PASCAL Delivers. Sign in with your PTC login to place the request. If the book or article you are looking for is not available, please submit an OCLC Interlibrary Loan request.
If you have any questions about how to borrow books or articles from other libraries, please contact a librarian at (864) 941-8441 or librarian@ptc.edu.
Careers for the Criminal Justice Major: a practical guide to course selection, descriptions of entry-level positions and best prospects for career development by
The purpose of this book is to address the proper preparation for careers in criminal justice. Now more than ever, there is a societal demand for willing college graduates who are prepared to enter the field at the basic level, and eager to develop themselves into positions of responsibility and leadership. Due to rapid and continuous changes in technology and overall society, students entering the field of criminal justice employment will be expected to adjust to changes in their line of work. This book describes the realistic descriptions of the various entry-level positions that are offered, and practical information is provided to maximize efficiency in the selection of academic courses that will improve a student's likelihood of success during the application process. Major topics include: A Short History of Criminal Justice as an Academic Study; The Nature of Professions; Electives that Will Help; The Importance of an Internship; Disqualifiers and What to Avoid During College Years; Stereotypes and Misperceptions in Criminal Justice Employment; Careers in Law Enforcement, Corrections, and Private Security; Graduate School and Law School; Realistic Alternatives; Networking, Looking for Employment Leads, and References; Preparing for Testing and the Interview; Preparing for Transfers to Specialized Units and Promotions; and the Roles of Nontraditional Students, Minorities, and Women in Criminal Justice. The names of state law enforcement training councils, federal law enforcement agencies, intelligence agencies, state regulatory agencies, federal regulatory agencies, and criminal justice professional associations are contained in the Appendices to assist students and faculty members. This valuable resource is designed to assist college students majoring in criminal justice, police academics, and law enforcement professionals.
Collision Course: Economic Change, Criminal Justice Reform, and Work in America by
This book is about the convergence of trends in two American institutions - the economy and the criminal justice system. The American economy has radically transformed in the past half-century, led by advances in automation technology that have permanently altered labor market dynamics. Over the same period, the U.S. criminal justice system experienced an unprecedented expansion at great cost. These costs include not only the $80 billion annually in direct expenditures on criminal justice, but also the devastating impacts experienced by justice-involved individuals, families, and communities. Recently, a widespread consensus has emerged that the era of "mass incarceration" is at an end, reflected in a declining prison population. Criminal justice reforms such as diversion and problem-solving courts, a renewed focus on reentry, and drug policy reform have as their goal keeping more individuals with justice system involvement out of prisons, in the community and subsequently in the labor force, which lacks the capacity to accommodate these additional would-be workers. This poses significant problems for criminal justice practice, which relies heavily on employment as a signal of offenders' intentions to live a law-abiding lifestyle. The diminished capacity of the economy to utilize the labor of all who have historically been expected to work presents significant challenges for American society. Work, in the American ethos is the marker of success, masculinity and how one "contributes to society." What are the consequences of ignoring these converging structural trends? This book examines these potential consequences, the meaning of work in American society, and suggests alternative redistributive and policy solutions to avert the collision course of these economic and criminal justice policy trends.
Cops, Cameras, and Crisis: the potential and the perils of police body-worn cameras by
2021 Outstanding Academic Title, Choice Magazine The first expert and comprehensive analysis of the surprising impact of body-worn cameras Following the tragic deaths of Eric Garner, Michael Brown, and others at the hands of police, interest in body-worn cameras for local, state, and federal law enforcement has skyrocketed. In Cops, Cameras, and Crisis, Michael D. White and Aili Malm provide an up-to-date analysis of this promising technology, evaluating whether it can address today's crisis in police legitimacy. Drawing on the latest research and insights from experts with field experience with police-worn body cameras, White and Malm show the benefits and drawbacks of this technology for police departments, police officers, and members of the public. Ultimately, they identify--and assess--each claim, weighing in on whether the specter of being "caught on tape" is capable of changing a criminal justice system desperately in need of reform. Cops, Cameras, and Crisis is a must-read for policymakers, police leaders, and activists interested in twenty-first-century policing.
Criminal Trials and Mental Disorders by
The complicated relationship between defendants with mental health disorders and the criminal justice system The American criminal justice system is based on the bedrock principles of fairness and justice for all. In striving to ensure that all criminal defendants are treated equally under the law, it endeavors to handle similar cases in similar fashion, attempting to apply rules and procedures even-handedly regardless of a defendant's social class, race, ethnicity, or gender. Yet, the criminal justice system has also recognized exceptions when special circumstances underlie a defendant's behavior or are likely to skew the defendant's trial. One of the most controversial set of exceptions -often poorly articulated and inconsistently applied - involves criminal defendants with a mental disorder. A series of special rules and procedures has evolved over the centuries, often without fanfare and even today with little systematic examination, that lawyers and judges apply to cases involving defendants with a mental disorder. This book provides an analysis of the key issues in this dynamic interplay between individuals with a mental disorder and the criminal justice system. The volume identifies the various stages of criminal justice proceedings when the mental status of a defendant may be relevant, associated legal and policy issues, the history and evolution of these issues, and how they are currently resolved. To assist this exploration, the text also offers an overview of mental disorders, their relevance to criminal proceedings, how forensic mental health assessments are conducted and employed during these proceedings, and their application to competency and responsibility determinations. In sum, this book provides an important resource for students and scholars with an interest in mental health, law, and criminal justice.
Cultural Expertise, Law, and Rights by
Introduction to the theory and practice of cultural expertise in the resolution of conflicts and the claim of rights in diverse societies. Combines theory and case-studies. Interdisciplinary exploration of the topic.
Environmental Crime: evidence gathering and investigative techniques by
This book will provide invaluable assistance to the new criminal environmental investigator in the highly regulated and complex field of criminal environmental investigations. This type of criminal investigation comes with a very steep learning curve. Every activity that takes place at an environmental crime scene involving a hazardous substance is strictly regulated by numerous laws and mandated procedures which must be met for a prosecutor to pursue a successful criminal prosecution. Written in a format which will bring the new criminal environmental investigator through this lengthy learning process, its goal is to supply the criminal environmental investigator with the comprehensive procedures and techniques necessary to conduct a successful criminal environmental investigation that involves the release to the environment of a chemical, biological or radiological hazardous substance. The first issues addressed are those related to the specialized training, equipment, and resources needed to safely and effectively conduct this unique type of criminal investigation. This is followed by several chapters related to environmental crime search warrants, which includes such subjects as establishing probable cause, search warrant planning and search warrant execution. In addition, the criminal environmental investigator is provided with the hazardous evidence collection protocols necessary to collect chemical, biological and radiological evidence in their various forms and matrices. This work goes beyond simply describing "how" to collect hazardous evidence: it informs the reader "why" the hazardous evidence must be collected in a specific manner to meet the many challenges that can be expected to be brought forth by the adversarial criminal justice system.
The Essential Criminology Reader by
Initially designed to accompany Mark Lanier and Stuart Henry's best-selling Essential Criminology textbook, this new reader is an up-to-date companion text perfect for all students of introductory criminology and criminological theory courses. The Essential Criminology Reader contains 30 original articles on current developments in criminological theory. Commissioned specifically for The Reader, these short essays were written by leading scholars in the field. Each chapter complements one of 13 different theoretical perspectives covered in Lanier and Henry's Essential Criminology text and contains between two and three articles from leading theorists on each perspective. Each chapter of The Reader features: a brief summary of the main ideas of the theory the ways the author's theory has been misinterpreted/distorted criticisms by others of the theory and how the author has responded a summary of the balance of the empirical findings the latest developments in their theoretical position policy implications/practice of their theory
Introduction to Criminal Justice by
This student-friendly introductory core text describes the criminal justice process in the United States - outlining the decisions, practices, people, and issues involved. It provides a solid introduction to the mechanisms of the criminal justice system, with balanced coverage of the issues presented by each facet of the process, including a thorough review of practices and controversies in law enforcement, the criminal courts, and corrections.
Routledge Handbook on American Prisons by
The Routledge Handbook on American Prisons is an authoritative volume that provides an overview of the state of U.S. prisons and synthesizes the research on the many facets of the prison system. The United States is exceptional in its use of incarceration as punishment. It not only has the largest prison population in the world, but also the highest per-capita incarceration rate. Research and debate about mass incarceration continues to grow, with mounting bipartisan agreement on the need for criminal justice reform. Divided into four sections (Prisons: Security, Operations and Administration; Types of Offenders and Populations; Living and Dying in Prison; and Release, Reentry, and Reform), the volume explores the key issues fundamental to understanding the U.S. prison system, including the characteristics of facilities; inmate risk assessment and classification, prison administration and employment, for-profit prisons, special populations, overcrowding, prison health care, prison violence, the special circumstances of death row prisoners, collateral consequences of incarceration, prison programming, and parole. The final section examines reform efforts and ideas, and offers suggestions for future research and attention. With contributions from leading correctional scholars, this book is a valuable resource for scholars with an interest in U.S. prisons and the issues surrounding them. It is structured to serve scholars and graduate students studying corrections, penology, institutional corrections, and other related topics.
The SAGE guide to writing in corrections by
Effective writing strategies for report writing guide students through the legal requirements and best practices for creating and completing reports commonly found in the field of corrections. Writing assignments and exercises provide students with opportunities to apply course material. Examples of resumes and cover letters offer students real-world tips to help prepare them for the workforce. A discussion on plagiarism clearly defines the concept to students as well as offers advice on how plagiarism can be avoided. An entire chapter devoted to information literacy explains to students how to better identify, obtain, and evaluate information.
School Zone: A Problem Analysis of Student Offending and Victimization by
Schools should be safe--but they are not always safe for everybody. Authors Pamela Wilcox, Graham Ousey, and Marie Skubak Tillyer studied crime among students located across diverse middle- and high-school settings to investigate why some students engage in delinquency--but others do not--and why some students are more prone to victimization. School Zone focuses on the three key interactional elements--context, victims, and offenders--to understand and explain the impact of common crimes such as theft, weapon carrying, drug possession and the verbal, physical, and sexual harassment of classmates. The authors also consider how individual students and schools respond to crime and threats. They analyze the variables that schools can control in planning and practice that explain why some schools have higher crime rates. School Zone uses empirical studies to provide a comprehensive understanding of the patterns and causes of variation in individual- and aggregate-level school-based offending and victimization experiences while also addressing the adequacy of wide-ranging criminological explanations and crime prevention policies. In their conclusion, the authors assess the extent to which currently popular strategies of school crime prevention align with what they have discovered through their problem-analysis framework and scientific understandings of student offending and victimization.
Careers in Criminal Justice by
Careers in Criminal Justice, Second Edition prepares students to plan, pursue, and realize their career goals--from conception through the hiring process. Coy H. Johnston's contemporary approach emphasizes student self-reflection and pragmatism in the pursuit of self-fulfillment and professionalism. With coverage of over forty careers in policing, courts, corrections, and victim services, students receive a comprehensive overview of the most popular and growing careers in the field. Self-assessment tools enhance the student's self-awareness and steer them toward realistic and suitable careers in criminal justice. This easy-to-read guide is organized to prepare and encourage growth throughout the student's career. New to the Second Edition: A new chapter titled "Volunteering and Internship" (Chapter 9) guides readers through the importance and process of early involvement in the field to create a more enticing resume. Three new "Guest Speaker" profiles offer students new perspectives and practical advice for a variety of careers and geographical areas. New career assessment tools are included to help students realize their compatibility with various careers in the criminal justice field. Expanded coverage of information in critical areas such as private prisons, careers in the judiciary, and resume building ensure students are receiving a balanced introduction to criminal justice careers. Free Poster: What can you do with a Criminal Justice degree?
The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual by
This comprehensive book is designed to accompany the primary text in any criminal justice class where writing is emphasized, or can be used as an excellent primary text for a criminal justice course in writing administrative and technical reports. The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual, 6e is designed to help students learn how to research and write in criminal justice, and improve their writing ability in general. While helping students with every aspect of the writing process-formatting, source citations, grammar, sentence structure, research, and utilizing available sources-it relieves instructors from the time consuming job of teaching these skills, and allows them to concentrate on the subject matter of the course they are teaching. This book is the most comprehensive book on the market that deals specifically with writing criminal justice papers. It gives specific directions for writing a variety of papers in criminal justice, from introductory to advanced, while also providing instructions on "how to write," and how to format the paper and cite sources following the American Sociological Association's and the American Psychological Association's guidelines. There is really no other book on the market that provides the comprehensive directions to writing papers in criminal justice that are found in The Criminal Justice Student Writer's Manual.
Culture, Diversity, and Criminal Justice: Toward Culturally Safe Criminal Justice Systems by
This ground-breaking textbook engages readers in conversation about responding to the effects of diversity within formal criminal justice systems in Westernized nation-states. Moving past a binary concept of diversity that involves only race and gender, this book elaborates upon a wide variety of other forms of diversity, including sexuality, disability, mental health, gendered identity, refugees, the young and the ageing, and culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) peoples, with an awareness of how intersecting identities make some people more vulnerable than others. With reported statistics providing only a snapshot of the incongruent experiences of diverse minorities in contact with criminal justice systems, there is a clear need for nuanced training and accessible information regarding diversity in criminal justice. The book examines diversity in terms of both criminal justice agents and justice-involved individuals such as people in prison, those convicted of crimes, the victimized, and the community. This volume brings together a group of international scholars to articulate on each of the identified populations, examining the effect of culture and diversity on criminal justice outcomes and outlining how those diverse perspectives can improve criminal justice service delivery overall. Incorporating case studies, reflections, and activity questions, this book is a valuable resource for courses in criminology, criminal justice, corrections, and law enforcement, and is ideal for any program focusing on multiculturalism and diversity in criminal justice. Scholars, researchers, and professionals will also benefit from the analysis.
Introduction to Criminal Justice by 
Reference Shelf: National Debate Topic 2020/21 (Criminal justice reform) by
This year's debate topic will focus on the issue of criminal justice reform. Central points include sentencing issues--mandatory minimums, truth in sentencing laws, and racial disparities; policing reform, including the role of police vs. social workers and health care workers as well as police brutality; reducing overcriminalization, particularly of drug possession; the War on Drugs as a cause of mass incarceration; a focus on rehabilitation vs. punishment in prisons; and juvenile justice reform. Significant recent developments include the 2019 First Step Act, which allows thousands of federal inmates to earn early release from prison, makes the reforms enacted by the Fair Sentencing Act of 2010 retroactive, and eases mandatory minimum requirements. Opponents of reform argue that measures such as these could result in violent criminals being released and recidivism.
Reference Shelf: Policing In 2020 by
This volume of The Reference Shelf looks at the issues surrounding the recent wave of protests against police brutality and the challenges that police face in the wake of shifts in public opinion about the quality of the U.S. police system. Issues covered will include the Black Lives Matter movement, the Defund the Police movement, and the oppositional Blue Lives Matter and All Lives Matter movements.
Behind Her Badge: A Woman's Journey Into and Out of Law Enforcement by
I've been called a "badass cop" throughout my career but the truth is that isn't the real me - at least, not how I've ever viewed myself. Behind that veneer there has always been an insecure little girl who struggled to find her way in life. I was in search of strength and self-confidence when I entered my law enforcement career, but I ended up suffering new traumas that I was ill prepared to cope with. I struggled to find success in the tough, gritty, male dominated world of policing. I faced biases, repeated layoffs, and became a seasoned undercover officer working as a prostitute, drug addict, and thief. I left law enforcement and returned to college, where education and research offered me enlightenment to the realities of policing that I was too submerged into the subculture to see. I was forced to come to grips with the many mistakes and misconceptions I made while working as a police officer and only now do I understand how institutional biases are perpetuating many of the same mistakes I made in policing today.