Enter your keyword search here:
Art Intelligence: How Generative AI Relates to Human Art-Making by
Artists always react to the times in which they live. They may celebrate them or criticize them, often trying to change them. But this is the first time in history that technology controlled by private companies is offering to replace the work of writers, musicians, illustrators and visual artists. What impact will generative AI have on how we create art and how we understand what art is for? How will it affect the role of the artist in the future and the conditions under which artists will work? Jan Svenungsson tackles these questions, investigating what AI might do for art, and what it might change, circling the core issue of what it is in human art-making that cannot be replaced.
Art in World History 2 Volumes by
This is a collection of two volumes covering the History of Art and its relationship with human development, religion and cultures. Volume One starts from the early civilisations and the origins of art in early artifacts, the kingdoms of Mesopotamia and Ancient Egypt, Eastern Mediterranean and the empire in China. It continues onto the sixteenth century, taking in Classical Greece and Rome; Byzantine Art, the Carolingian Empire, explain to the rise of Islamic African Art and the development of India Art around the religions of Buddhism, Jainism and Hinduism, as well as Chinese Art of Taoism and Confucianism. Much of art in the medieval age was influenced by the conquests, religion and faith as well as gothic and Italian City State art. The early renaissance of the fifteenth century is heavily steeped in the history of Florence and the Papacy as well as the princes and merchants of northern Europe; compassing Venetian art at the end of the sixteenth century. Volume Two continues until the twentieth century, looking at the themes of power and image in the European courts as well as the Muslim Courts. The strength of the Catholic church influences the Roman and Baroque art developments of the seventeenth century, as well as expeditions to the Americas, Spain and the Netherlands. The frivolity and extravagance dominates eighteenth century art with the arrival of Rococo and a return to neoclassicism, which moved to romanticism in the nineteenth century and the freedom of realism, impressionism, and the new materials of the industrial revolution in the twentieth century. Both volumes contain an index of names and places.
A Companion to Islamic Granada by
A Companion to Islamic Granada gathers, for the first time in English, a number of essays exploring aspects of the Islamic history of this city from the 8th through the 15th centuries from an interdisciplinary perspective. This collective volume examines the political development of Medieval Gharnāṭa under the rule of different dynasties, drawing on both historiographical and archaeological sources. It also analyses the complexity of its religious and multicultural society, as well as its economic, scientific, and intellectual life. The volume also transcends the year 1492, analysing the development of both the mudejar and the morisco populations and their contribution to Grenadian culture and architecture up to the 17th century. Contributors are: Bárbara Boloix-Gallardo, María Jesús Viguera-Molíns, Alberto García-Porras, Antonio Malpica-Cuello, Bilal Sarr-Marroco, Allen Fromherz, Bernard Vincent, Maribel Fierro-Bello, Ma Luisa Ávila-Navarro, Juan Pedro Monferrer-Sala, José Martínez-Delgado, Luis Bernabé-Pons, Adela Fábregas-García, Josef Zenka, Amalia Zomeño-Rodríguez, Delfina Serrano-Ruano, Julio Samsó-Moya, Celia del Moral-Molina, José Miguel Puerta-Vílchez, Antonio Orihuela-Uzal, Ieva Reklaityte, and Rafael López-Guzmán.
A Companion to Korean Art by
The only college-level publication on Korean art history written in English Korean pop culture has become an international phenomenon in the past few years. The popularity of the nation's exports--movies, K-pop, fashion, television shows, lifestyle and cosmetics products, to name a few--has never been greater in Western society. Despite this heightened interest in contemporary Korean culture, scholarly Western publications on Korean visual arts are scarce and often outdated. A Companion to Korean Art is the first academically-researched anthology on the history of Korean art written in English. This unique anthology brings together essays by renowned scholars from Korea, the US, and Europe, presenting expert insights and exploring the most recent research in the field. Insightful chapters discuss Korean art and visual culture from early historical periods to the present. Subjects include the early paintings of Korea, Buddhist architecture, visual art of the late Chosŏn period, postwar Korean Art, South Korean cinema, and more. Several chapters explore the cultural exchange between the Korean peninsula, the Chinese mainland, and the Japanese archipelago, offering new perspectives on Chinese and Japanese art. The most comprehensive survey of the history of Korean art available, this book: Offers a comprehensive account of Korean visual culture through history, including contemporary developments and trends Presents two dozen articles and numerous high quality illustrations Discusses visual and material artifacts of Korean art kept in various archives and collections worldwide Provides theoretical and interpretive balance on the subject of Korean art Helps instructors and scholars of Asian art history incorporate Korean visual arts in their research and teaching The definitive and authoritative reference on the subject, A Companion to Korean Art is indispensable for scholars and academics working in areas of Asian visual arts, university students in Asian and Korean art courses, and general readers interested in the art, culture, and history of Korea.
A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latina/o Art by
In-depth scholarship on the central artists, movements, and themes of Latin American art, from the Mexican revolution to the present A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latinx Art consists of over 30 never-before-published essays on the crucial historical and theoretical issues that have framed our understanding of art in Latin America. This book has a uniquely inclusive focus that includes both Spanish-speaking Caribbean and contemporary Latinx art in the United States. Influential critics of the 20th century are also covered, with an emphasis on their effect on the development of artistic movements. By providing in-depth explorations of central artists and issues, alongside cross-references to illustrations in major textbooks, this volume provides an excellent complement to wider surveys of Latin American and Latinx art. Readers will engage with the latest scholarship on each of five distinct historical periods, plus broader theoretical and historical trends that continue to influence how we understand Latinx, Indigenous, and Latin American art today. The book's areas of focus include: The development of avant-garde art in the urban centers of Latin America from 1910-1945 The rise of abstraction during the Cold War and the internationalization of Latin American art from 1945-1959 The influence of the political upheavals of the 1960s on art and art theory in Latin America The rise of conceptual art as a response to dictatorship and social violence in the 1970s and 1980s The contemporary era of neoliberalism and globalization in Latin American and Latino Art, 1990-2010 With its comprehensive approach and informative structure, A Companion to Modern and Contemporary Latin American and Latinx Art is an excellent resource for advanced students in Latin American culture and art. It is also a valuable reference for aspiring scholars in the field.
A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art by
"A Companion to Renaissance and Baroque Art" provides a diverse, fresh collection of accessible, comprehensive essays addressing key issues for European art produced between 1300 and 1700, a period that might be termed the beginning of modern history.Presents a collection of original, in-depth essays from art experts that address various aspects of European visual arts produced from circa 1300 to 1700Divided into five broad conceptual headings: Social-Historical Factors in Artistic Production; Creative Process and Social Stature of the Artist; The Object: Art as Material Culture; The Message: Subjects and Meanings; and The Viewer, the Critic, and the Historian: Reception and Interpretation as Cultural DiscourseCovers many topics not typically included in collections of this nature, such as Judaism and the arts, architectural treatises, the global Renaissance in arts, the new natural sciences and the arts, art and religion, and gender and sexualityFeatures essays on the arts of the domestic life, sexuality and gender, and the art and production of tapestries, conservation/technology, and the metaphor of theaterFocuses on Western and Central Europe and that territory's interactions with neighboring civilizations and distant discoveriesIncludes illustrations as well as links to images not included in the book
The Dragon in Medieval East Christian and Islamic Art by
This book is a pioneering work on a key iconographic motif, that of the dragon. It examines the perception of this complex, multifaceted motif within the overall intellectual and visual universe of the medieval Irano-Turkish world. Using a broadly comparative approach, the author explores the ever-shifting semantics of the dragon motif as it emerges in neighbouring Muslim and non-Muslim cultures. The book will be of particular interest to those concerned with the relationship between the pre-Islamic, Islamic and Eastern Christian (especially Armenian) world. The study is fully illustrated, with 209 (b/w and full colour) plates, many of previously unpublished material. Illustrations include photographs of architectural structures visited by the author, as well as a vast collection of artefacts, all of which are described and discussed in detail with inscription readings, historical data and textual sources.
A History of Roman Art by
A History of Roman Art provides a wide-ranging survey of the subject from the founding of Rome to the rule of Rome's first Christian emperor, Constantine. Incorporating the most up-to-date information available on the topic, this new textbook explores the creation, use, and meaning of art in the Roman world. Extensively illustrated with 375 color photographs and line drawings Broadly defines Roman art to include the various cultures that contributed to the Roman system Focuses throughout on the overarching themes of Rome's cultural inclusiveness and art's important role in promoting Roman values Discusses a wide range of Roman painting, mosaic, sculpture, and decorative arts, as well as architecture and associated sculptures within the cultural contexts they were created and developed Offers helpful and instructive pedagogical features for students, such as timelines; key terms defined in margins; a glossary; sidebars with key lessons and explanatory material on artistic technique, stories, and ancient authors; textboxes on art and literature, art from the provinces, and important scholarly perspectives; and primary sources in translation A book companion website is available at www.wiley.com/go/romanart with the following resources: PowerPoint slides, glossary, and timeline Steven Tuck is the 2014 recipient of the American Archaeological Association's Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Award.
Landscape and space : comparative perspectives from Chinese, Mesoamerican, ancient Greek, and Roman art by
Landscape has been a key theme in world archaeology and trans-cultural art history over the last half century, particularly in the study of painting in art history and in all questions of human intervention and the placement of monuments in the natural world within archaeology. However, the representation of landscape has been rather less addressed in the scholarship of the archaeologically-accessed visual cultures of the ancient world. The kinds of reliefs, objects, and paintings discussed here have a significant purchase on matters concerned with landscape and space in the visual sphere, but were discovered within archaeological contexts and by means of excavation. Through case studies focused on the invention of wilderness imagery in ancient China, the relation of monuments to landscape in ancient Greece, the place of landscape painting in Mesoamerican Maya art, and the construction of sacred landscape across Eurasia between Stonehenge and the Silk Road via Pompeii, this book emphasises the importance of thinking about models of landscape in ancient art, as well as the value of comparative approaches in underlining core aspects of the topic. Notably, it explores questions of space, both actual and conceptual, including how space is configured through form and representation.
Materials, Methods, and Masterpieces of Medieval Art by
A comprehensive and informed analysis explores the startlingly diverse and sophisticated fine arts in the Middle Ages. Materials, Methods, and Masterpieces of Medieval Art provides a comprehensive and detailed analysis of the work done by artists in western Europe during the Middle Ages. Art historian Janetta Rebold Benton uses examples such as the Book of Kells, Bury Saint Edmunds Cross, and the Bayeux Tapestry, and the work of artists such as Jan van Eyck and Giotto to explore the various media available to medieval artists and the ways in which those media were used to create a stunning array of masterworks. Although the visual arts of the Middle Ages were extremely colorful, today much of that color has diminished or disappeared, the pigments and threads faded, the gold abraded, the silver tarnished. Materials, Methods, and Masterpieces of Medieval Art allows these works to sparkle once more.
Traditional African Art: An Illustrated Study by
The art of sub-Saharan Africa reveals the marvelous achievements of unknown artists over thousands of years. Their aesthetic ideal finds form in wood, ivory, fabric, bronze and iron. This illustrated study of traditional African art includes pieces from Western Sudan, the Congolese Basin, the Guinea coast, Gabon, the Democratic Republic of Congo and East and South Africa. Each piece is characterized by its own traditions and artistic forms. The earliest works date from the beginning of the first millennium, the most recent from the early 20th century. Unique and rare examples are documented, many heretofore virtually unknown.
The Handy Art History Answer Book by
The Art of Discovery. The Discovery of Art. The History of Art! Warhol, Michelangelo, and da Vinci. Picasso, Monet, and Rembrandt, Ai WeiWei and Jenny Holzer. What were they thinking when they created their masterworks? While we can't always know an artist's exact thoughts, The Handy Art History Answer Book examines their benefactors, their wealth or poverty, their passions, the politics, and the world events that inspired and influenced them. Explore their techniques and materials, the forms, colors and styles, the movements and schools of thoughts, and discover the varied forms and nature of artistic expression. Tracing art history from cave paintings to contemporary installations, along with Romanticism, Impressionism and the numerous "isms" in-between, The Handy Art History Answer Book guides you through the major art movements, artists, and important art pieces from 35,000 B.C.E. to today. This fascinating book provides an overview of art from its history and basic principles to its evolution, philosophy, and the masters who created groundbreaking works that changed its course forever. Accessible and entertaining, this captivating book answers over 600 questions, such as ... What is beauty? What tools did Paleolithic artists use? Why do Egyptian figures have two left feet? What is the difference between weaving and tapestry? What happened to the Venus de Milo's arms? Why is Emperor Comoodus dressed as Hercules? What are the Classical Greek Orders of Architecture? What do the Yoruba consider beautiful? What was the first Gothic cathedral? How was single-point perspective invented? What makes the Mona Lisa such a great work of art? What is the difference between Art Nouveau and Art Deco? What is a Zen garden? Why wasn't photography considered art in the 19th century? How did Cezanne "astonish Paris with apples"? Why did Jackson Pollock splatter paint all over his canvases? Why do Jeff Koons' balloon animals sell for millions of dollars? Who is Ai Weiwei? The Handy Art History Answer Book covers not only paintings, but every medium imaginable, including sculpture, architecture, pottery, photography, installation art, and even video games. The concise and clearly written text is enhanced by nearly 150 color images illustrating artistic concepts and highlighting important and memorable artworks. Its helpful bibliography and extensive index add to its usefulness.
Islamic Art and Culture by
"Now more then ever, Islam and Islamic culture is a topic that is as misunderstood as it is fascinating. In this exquisite oversized volume spanning 1200 years of history, celebrated scholar Professor Nasser D. Khalili presents a benchmark visual history of the peoples, the cultures, and the artworks that have defined the Islamic world. From Spain to Indonesia, North Africa to China, more than fifty of the world's nations are of the Muslim faith. The material culture of the Muslim people is accordingly rich and varied, ranging from huge architectural projects to minutely detailed miniature paintings, exquisitely patterned silk textiles and bold calligraphy." "Histories of the art of the Islamic lands have, until now, either been very general or highly focused on particular regions or types of artifacts. The oversized format of Islamic Art and Culture provides the reader with the magnificent sweep of the arts of Islam in a unique and accessible way. Diverse developments throughout the Islamic world are compared simultaneously across time and place, and specific objects and buildings seen in the light of key events in Muslim history. From calligraphy to carpets, armor to architecture, this book voluptuously reveals the immense heritage handed down through Islamic artists over the centuries and examines their relationship to their Western peers."--BOOK JACKET.
Mad Enchantment: Claude Monet and the Painting of the Water Lilies by
Los Angeles Times Book Prize Finalist From bestselling author Ross King, a brilliant portrait of legendary artist Claude Monet and the story of his most memorable achievement, the water lilies. Claude Monet is perhaps the world's most beloved artist, and among all his creations, the paintings of the water lilies in his garden at Giverny are most famous. Seeing them in museums around the world, viewers are transported by the power of Monet's brush into a peaceful world of harmonious nature. Monet himself intended them to provide "an asylum of peaceful meditation." Yet, as Ross King reveals in his magisterial chronicle of both artist and masterpiece, these beautiful canvases belie the intense frustration Monet experienced at the difficulties of capturing the fugitive effects of light, water, and color. They also reflect the terrible personal torments Monet suffered in the last dozen years of his life. Mad Enchantment tells the full story behind the creation of the Water Lilies, as the horrors of World War I came ever closer to Paris and Giverny, and a new generation of younger artists, led by Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso, were challenging the achievements of Impressionism. By early 1914, French newspapers were reporting that Monet, by then 73 and one of the world's wealthiest, most celebrated painters, had retired his brushes. He had lost his beloved wife, Alice, and his eldest son, Jean. His famously acute vision--what Paul Cezanne called "the most prodigious eye in the history of painting"--was threatened by cataracts. And yet, despite ill health, self-doubt, and advancing age, Monet began painting again on a more ambitious scale than ever before. Linking great artistic achievement to the personal and historical dramas unfolding around it, Ross King presents the most intimate and revealing portrait of an iconic figure in world culture--from his lavish lifestyle and tempestuous personality to his close friendship with the fiery war leader Georges Clemenceau, who regarded the Water Lilies as one of the highest expressions of the human spirit.
Nineteenth-Century American Art by
Painting and sculpture flourished in nineteenth-century America and saw the rise of self-taught travelling artists and professional artists producing works for a growing number of wealthy patrons. This innovative introduction examines the profession of the artist alongside the reception of their work by nineteenth-century art audiences. Works of art by familiar names such as Thomas Eakins and Winslow Homer are discussed in detail within the larger arena of visual culture, as are key works by recently discovered artists such as Harriet Hosmer. The thematic approach focuses on portraiture, landscape painting, the American West, commemorative art, and goes on to examine the ways in which painters responded to major social and economic changes resulting from the rapid change from an agriculturally-based former colony to an industrialized imperial power with an evolving democracy. Uniquely, Barbara Groseclose treats the embeddedness of American Art in its European heritage as continual and salutary, rather than intermittent and oppositional, and also explores the changing interpretations of art of this period.
Pacific Art in Detail by
Pacific Art in Detail introduces the riches of Oceanic art through sumptuous images and close-ups. Using carefully selected pieces from the world-renowned Oceanic collection at the British Museum to illustrate major themes, this book evokes the hand and eye of accomplished artists and craft workers, past and present.
Painters and Paintings in the Early American South by
This beautifully illustrated volume presents the complex ways in which the lives of artists, clients, and sitters were interconnected in the early American South. During this period, paintings included not only portraits, but also seascapes, landscapes, and pictures made by explorers and naturalists. The first comprehensive study of this subject, Painters and Paintings in the Early American South draws upon materials including diaries, correspondence, and newspapers in order to explore the stylistic trends of the period and the lives of the sitters, as gentility spread from the wealthiest southerners to the middle class. Featuring works by John Singleton Copley, Charles Willson Peale, and Benjamin West, among many others, this important book examines the training and status of painters, the distinction between fine art and the mechanical arts, the popularity of portraiture, and the nature of clientele between 1540 and 1790, providing a new, critical understanding of the history of art in the American South. Published in association with the Colonial Williamsburg Foundation Exhibition Schedule: Colonial Williamsburg Foundation(03/23/13-09/07/14)
Palmetto Portraits Project by
A collection of photographic portraits of South Carolinians taken by twenty-four South Carolina photographers, with an essay by novelist Josephine Humphreys.
Pissarro by
The father of impressionists, Camille Pissarro, was groundbreaking for the modern age. Whether it was painting or graphics, impressionism or pointillism, portraits or the worker genre--his work was extraordinarily versatile and full of technical and thematic innovations.
Renaissance Art: A Beginner's Guide by
The fifteenth century saw the evolution of a distinct and powerfully influential European artistic culture. But what does the familiar phrase Renaissance Art actually refer to? Through engaging discussion of timeless works by artists such as Jan van Eyck, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo, and supported by illustrations including colour plates, Tom Nichols offers a masterpiece of his own as he explores the truly original and diverse character of the art of the Renaissance.
What Are You Looking At?: The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art by
For skeptics, art lovers, and the millions of us who visit art galleries every year--and are confused--What Are You Looking At? by former director of London's Tate Gallery Will Gompertz is a wonderfully lively, accessible narrative history of Modern Art, from Impressionism to the present day. What is modern art? Who started it? Why do we either love it or loathe it? And why is it such big money? Join BBC Arts Editor Will Gompertz on a dazzling tour that will change the way you look at modern art forever. From Monet's water lilies to Van Gogh's sunflowers, from Warhol's soup cans to Hirst's pickled shark, hear the stories behind the masterpieces, meet the artists as they really were, and discover the real point of modern art. You will learn: not all conceptual art is bollocks; Picasso is king (but Cézanne is better); Pollock is no drip; Dali painted with his moustache; a urinal changed the course of art; why your 5-year-old really couldn't do it. Refreshing, irreverent and always straightforward, What Are You Looking At? cuts through the pretentious art speak and asks all the basic questions that you were too afraid to ask. Your next trip to the art gallery is going to be a little less intimidating and a lot more interesting. With his offbeat humor, down-to-earth storytelling, and flair for odd details that spark insights, Will Gompertz is the perfect tour guide for modern art. His book doesn't tell us if a work of art is good; it gives us the knowledge to decide for ourselves.
A World of Art by
NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyArtsLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyArtsLab, search for 0134377451 / 9780134377452 A World of Art plus MyArtsLab for Art Appreciation -- Access Card Package, 8/e Package consists of: * 0134081803 / 9780134081809 A World of Art, 8/e * 0134376846 / 9780134376844 MyArtsLab for Art Appreciation without Pearson eText Valuepack Access Card MyArtsLab should only be purchased when required by an instructor. For courses in Art Appreciation Foster critical thinking and visual literacy in the Art Appreciation course. A World of Art fosters the critical thinking and visual literacy skills students need to understand art from around the globe. Noted author and educator Henry Sayre teaches students how to ask the right questions about the visual world that surrounds us, and to then respond meaningfully to the complexity of that world. New to the eighth edition, seven thematic chapters help students better identify and understand major themes of art--such as "the cycle of life" and "the body, gender, and identity"--that transcend different eras and regions. Also available with MyArtsLab® MyArtsLab for the Art Appreciation course extends learning online to engage students and improve results. Media resources with assignments bring concepts to life, and offer students opportunities to practice applying what they've learned. Please note: this version of MyArtsLab does not include an eText. A World of Art, Eighth Edition is also available via REVEL(tm), an immersive learning experience designed for the way today's students read, think, and learn.