LibGuides: Respiratory Care: Find Articles

Access Databases from Any Location

To access the library's electronic resources off-campus, login with your P-number and PIN (your six-digit date of birth).

Recommended Journals

Respiratory care : the official journal of the American Association for Respiratory Therapy.
Available online 2008-present.
RT: The Journal for Respiratory Care Practitioners
Available online 2007-present.
Canadian Journal of Respiratory Therapy
Available online, 2004-present.
NPJ Primary Care Respiratory Medicine
Primary Care Respiratory Society UK (available 2014-present)
AARC Newsroom
American Association of Respiratory Care; for articles published before 2020, look for the AARC Times

InterLibrary Loan

If you need articles that are not full-text, the library can request copies of articles from other libraries for you through Interlibrary Loan. Please click on the "Interlibrary Loan" link below to request articles or call the library at 864-941-8441.

Interlibrary Loan
Interlibrary Loan is a service that enables PTC students and employees to request books or articles from other libraries through the Library.

Searching Databases

Searching a library database can be a little different from searching Google. The following video by EBSCO (one of our database providers), explains how to use the basic search functions in CINAHL. If you have questions, please click on the Need Help? tab to chat with a librarian!

EBSCO Tutorials. (2022, September 7). CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial [Video]. Youtube. https://youtu.be/_BUBmheI_pE?si=HUHMlCbMWGVcyOMM

What's a Scholarly Article?

UVA Fulton Library Instruction. (2022, January 3). Reading Scholarly Articles [Video]. Youtube. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=blrrAklOclk

Health and Medical Databases

Find Articles

Alt Healthwatch
Focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. It offers libraries full-text articles for more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.
CINAHL Complete
Most comprehensive source of nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 1300 journals indexed in CINAHL. Full-text coverage dates back to 1937.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
Full-text articles from more than 620 nursing and allied health journals (NOTE: for even more full-text articles, choose CINAHL Complete instead).
Consumer Health Complete
CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full-text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Abstracts and full-text access to scholarly journals. Topics focus on many medical disciplines with strong coverage of nursing and allied health.
Medline with Full Text
Citations, abstracts and full-text articles about biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues and health care services. Includes reference to articles from journals published in the U.S. and 70 other countries.
R2 Digital Library
The R2 Digital Library features searchable, full-text books from Rittenhouse, publishers of nursing and health sciences literature. Additional features include an A-Z drug index and an image search.

Find Interactive Models, Images, Statistics, Calculators, and Conditions

3D Human Anatomy & Physiology Online

Includes modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, as well as dissection slides, clinical case studies, and more.
AAFP Conditions A to Z
Common conditions, treatments and health tips are presented and listed alphabetically; may be cross-searched in STAT!Ref database. (Part of: tds health)
EBMcalc
A collection of over 520 calculators, clinical criteria sets and decision trees helpful to anyone practicing, teaching, or studying evidence-based medicine (formerly called MedCalc 3000).
MPR: Medical Professionals Reference

Provides concise prescribing information for physicians, nurse practitioners, physician associates, and other healthcare practitioners from a leading authority in the field; also offers drug comparison charts, medical calculators, point-of-care tools, news, and features on hot topics in pharmacotherapy.
Stat!REF
Stat!Ref is a cross-searchable reference database of core full-text medical, pharmacology and nursing books, drug information from AHFS, evidence-based resources from ACP, and tools like ICD 9 and 10, Calculators, Stedman’s and the National Guideline Clearinghouse. It also includes the latest editions of more than eighty standard texts and other respected medical and nursing titles. (Part of: tds Health)