Reference resources are excellent for finding introductory information on your topic that provides an accessible, broad overview. Dictionaries, encyclopedias, and the Credo Reference Database are great places to search for short articles that provide a good starting point for research.
Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing and Health Professions by
Make sense of complex medical terms with this comprehensive reference! Mosby's Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing & Health Professions, 11th Edition includes more than 56,000 authoritative definitions along with 2,450 illustrations - that's twice the number of images found in other medical dictionaries. Appendixes in the book and online make it easy to look up frequently used information, and an enhanced eBook version includes animations, audio pronunciations, and more. Helping you communicate more effectively in the workplace, this reference is an indispensable reference for students, nurses, and healthcare professionals. More than 56,000 entries offer detailed definitions, as well as the latest information on pathophysiology, treatment and interventions, and nursing care. More than 2,450 color photographs and line drawings demonstrate and explain complex conditions and abstract concepts. Convenient alphabetical organization makes it easy to find key terms and definitions. Color Atlas of Human Anatomy includes clearly labeled drawings for easy A&P reference. Detailed appendixes provide useful information on lab values, pharmacology and clinical calculations, NIC and NOC, infection control standards, and more that can be used throughout your healthcare career. NEW! Approximately 5,000 new and revised definitions reflect the latest developments in health care, drugs, and nursing terminology. NEW! Approximately 500 new and updated illustrations are included. NEW! Enhanced eBook includes linked audio pronunciations, animations, and integrated reference tables. NEW information on population health is included. NEW! Significant revisions of pharmacology content bring this information up to date. NEW! Added pronunciations are provided in this edition.
Oxford Desk Reference: Respiratory Medicine by
In the era of evidence-based medicine, clinicians draw upon a vast resource of research-based evidence to guide their practice. However, finding this information is not always easy, particularly when it is most needed. In the case of respiratory medicine which covers more than 40 individual conditions, the research-based evidence may be limited and/or disproportionate to the incidence of the condition. Guidelines are available but difficult and time consuming to find.This book is designed to overcome this problem. Many of the key recommendations to be found in current evidence-based guidelines are presented in a uniform and accessible format. The same format has been used for expert opinion on best practice where the evidence base is limited. The design of this book makes locating the information needed both quick and simple, and the succinct yet easy-to-read nature of the text means that key points can be reviewed and assimilated rapidly. The text isenhanced by a number of summary boxes and tables for quick reference to the key points covered in the narrative. A large number of these sections also have radiological images illustrating the relevant abnormalities. Written by experts in their field, this book presents a succinct overview based on bothbest practice and available research evidence.
Use the library's online catalog to search for books, both print and electronic copies. However, not all of the library's eBooks are included in the PTC library catalog. For access to all available eBooks, search the individual eBook collections. The catalog also contains titles for DVDs, CDs, as well as other audiovisual and electronic resources.
Catalog Quick Search
When searching the catalog, you may search by keyword, author, title, or subject.
Sample Search Terms:
If you need books that the PTC library does not have, you may request items from other SC academic libraries by using PASCAL Delivers.
Finding Books Worldwide:
Foundations in Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care by
Designed to be the primary text for the 'Neonatal and Pediatric' course as part of the respiratory care core curriculum, Foundations in Neonatal and Pediatric Respiratory Care provides students and practitioners alike with a comprehensive yet reader-friendly resource. This new text has contributions in each chapter by national experts who are actively practicing in their subject areas, providing the most relevant evidence-based material and content that has a significant and practical application to current practice.Key Features Include: * Chapter Objectives - Each chapter begins with a list of objectives in the NBRC testing format * Highly Illustrated - Innovative and unique illustrations found throughout the text demonstrate how to provide care and use equipment in this specialty area properly.* Following the NBRC matrix, this text is an exceptional reference for credentialed practitioners who are interested in taking the Neonatal Pediatric Special credentialing exam.* Utilizing feedback provided from current educators, the chapters are efficiently and logically organized to mirror the way a course is taught.
Fundamentals of Pharmacology for Nursing and Healthcare Students by
All registered nurses must have a thorough understanding and a strong knowledge of pharmacology, medicines administration, and the ability to recognise and react to the effects of medicines. Fundamentals of Pharmacology helps nursing and healthcare students develop the skills and confidence required to apply the fundamental principles of pharmacology and to offer safe, competent and compassionate care. Concentrating on the medicines that students are most likely to encounter in real-world practice, this textbook provides concise coverage of pharmacology, essential medicines management principles, legal and ethical issues, drug formulations, analgesics, immunisations, and much more. Clinically focused chapters feature defined learning outcomes, multiple-choice questions, practical examples, and full-colour illustrations to aid readers' comprehension of the complexities of pharmacology and care provision. The book utilises a straightforward, student-friendly approach to present 'must-have' information, with contributions from experienced clinicians and academics. Describes how to use pharmaceutical and prescribing reference guides Stresses the role and importance of compassionate care throughout Contains a full range of pedagogical tools which enhance learning and recall Aligns with current NMC Standards and Proficiencies for Registered Nurses and Nursing Associates Supplemented and supported by a wealth of online extras and resources Fundamentals of Pharmacology is essential reading for all nursing students, trainee nursing associates, post-registration nurses taking 'nurse prescribing' or 'non-medical prescribing' modules, and newly qualified nurses and nursing associates looking to better understand pharmacology.
Introduction to Health Care Management by
Introduction to Health Care Management, Fourth Edition is a concise, reader-friendly, introductory healthcare management text that covers a wide variety of healthcare settings, from hospitals to nursing homes and clinics. Filled with examples to engage the reader's imagination, the important issues in healthcare management, such as ethics, cost management, strategic planning and marketing, information technology, and human resources, are all thoroughly covered.Guidelines and rubrics along with numerous case studies make this text both student-friendly and teacher-friendly. It is the perfect resource for students of healthcare management, nursing, allied health, business administration, pharmacy, occupational therapy, public administration, and public health.Key Features:* Chapters contributed by real experts using an active voice to grab the reader's attention* Instructors' resources online for each chapter, including PowerPoints, Test Bank, and Sample Syllabus* Updated case studies in a wide variety of settings, in an assortment of healthcare management topics* A case study guide, with rubrics for evaluation of student performance, enabling instructors at every level of experience to hit the ground running on that first day of class* Access to Navigate 2 online learning materials, including a comprehensive and interactive eBook, student practice activities and assessments, learning analytics reporting tools and more.
Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases by
Written for the undergraduate Respiratory Therapy student, Linz's Comprehensive Respiratory Diseases provide a comprehensive learning system centered on the essentials of respiratory disorders. It helps respiratory therapy students gain the pulmonary disease knowledge base necessary to pass the National Board for Respiratory Care's (NBRC) Registered Respiratory Therapist (RRT) credentialing exams and function as competent, confident respiratory therapists.
Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation: Physiological and Clinical Applications by
Ensure you understand one of the most sophisticated areas of respiratory care with Pilbeam's Mechanical Ventilation: Physiological and Clinical Applications, 7th Edition! Known for its simple explanations and in-depth coverage of patient-ventilator management, this evidence-based text walks you through the most fundamental and advanced concepts surrounding mechanical ventilation and helps you understand how to properly apply these principles to patient care. This new edition is an excellent reference for all critical care practitioners and features coverage of the physiological effects of mechanical ventilation on different cross sections of the population. Additionally, student-friendly features promote critical thinking and clinical application - such as key points, AARC clinical practice guidelines, critical care concepts, updated learning objectives which address ACCS exam topics and are currently mandated by the NBRC for the RRT-ACCS credential. Brief patient case studies list important assessment data and pose a critical thinking question to you. Critical Care Concepts are presented in short questions to help you apply knowledge to difficult concepts. UNIQUE! Chapter on ventilator-associated pneumonia provides in-depth, comprehensive coverage of this challenging issue. Clinical scenarios cover patient presentation, assessment data, and treatment options to acquaint you with different clinical situations. Key Point boxes highlight need-to-know information. Logical chapter sequence builds on previously learned concepts and information. Bulleted end-of-chapter summaries help you to review and assess your comprehension. Excerpts of Clinical Practice Guidelines developed by the AARC (American Association for Respiratory Care) make it easy to access important information regarding indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, assessment of outcome, and monitoring. Chapter outlines show the big picture of each chapter's content. Glossary of mechanical ventilation terminology includes definitions to highlighted key terms in each chapter. NBRC exam-style assessment questions at the end of each chapter offer practice for the certification exam. NEW! Interprofessional education and practice concepts integrated throughout text and within respective chapters. NEW! Enhanced content on the physiological effects of mechanical ventilation application provides in-depth coverage of patient concerns. UPDATED! Content on ventilator modes in, Selecting the Ventilator Mode and Initial Ventilator Settings chapters. NEW! Revised Basic Concepts of Noninvasive Positive Pressure Ventilation chapter includes the latest practics in this area of respiratory care. NEW! Learning Objectives and end-of-chapter Review Questions reflect the updated content and the latest NBRC RRT-ACCS exam topics.
Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology by
Prepare to think critically, take a more clinical perspective, and connect theory with practice! Written specifically for respiratory care students in an easy-to-understand format, Respiratory Care Anatomy and Physiology: Foundations for Clinical Practice, 4th Editiondetails applied respiratory and cardiovascular physiology and how anatomy relates to physiological functions. Content spans the areas of detailed anatomy and physiology of the pulmonary, cardiovascular, and renal systems, and covers the physiological principles underlying common therapeutic, diagnostic, and monitoring therapies and procedures. Thoroughly updated to reflect changes in the NBRC exam, this comprehensive, clinically relevant text features open-ended concept questions that help you learn how to think like the expert you aim to become. Chapter outlines, chapter objectives, key terms, and a bulleted points to remember feature highlight important concepts and make content more accessible. Open-ended concept questions require reasoned responses based on thorough comprehension of the text, fostering critical thinking and discussion. Clinical Focus boxes throughout the text place key subject matter in a clinical context to help you connect theory with practice by understanding how physiology guides clinical decision-making in the real world. Appendixes contain helpful tables, formulas and definitions of terms and symbols. Evolve resources include a 600-question test bank in NBRC-style, PowerPoint presentations with ARS questions, an image collection, and an answer key to concept questions. UPDATED! Thoroughly updated content reflects changes in the NBRC exam. NEW and UPDATED! New images enhance understanding of key concepts.
Respiratory Care Calculations by
Respiratory care equations are some of the most useful tools available to the practicing Respiratory Therapist and respiratory care students. Not only do the equations provide answers to clinical questions, they help practitioners learn variables in an equation and how those variables may be altered to achieve better clinical outcomes. Respiratory Care Calculations, Revised Fourth Edition prepares students to calculate those equations correctly, and then interpret that data in a meaningful way, resulting in patients benefiting from accurate answers and appropriate applications of data.With its comprehensive coverage of respiratory care calculations and extensive additional learning resources, readers will find Respiratory Care Calculations, Revised Fourth Edition useful in preparing for their clinical practice and credentialing examinations. Self-Assessment Questions are available in the NBRC format, and can be found at the end of each calculation to enhance and reinforce learning and retention. The book is extremely valuable to both students and seasoned practitioners in all patient care situations.
Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy by
Time to master the complexities of respiratory care. The newly updated Respiratory Care Made Incredibly Easy! ®, 3rd Edition , explains the essentials with humor, expert guidance, and numerous colorful images. Offering the essential terms, skills, and equipment how-to's you need to successfully treat the most common respiratory disorders, this down-to-earth guide helps you grasp respiratory physiology, pathophysiology, and pharmacology in clear and simple language. Prepare for success in the classroom and on the job, with this enjoyable guide to creating positive respiratory outcomes. Grasp the fundamental concepts, skills, and processes of respiratory care ... NEW content on the latest respiratory modalities and updated nursing guidelines Dozens of colorful charts, drawings, and diagrams that make complex respiratory care concepts clear and easy-to-remember Perfect for visual learners --visually demonstrates anatomy and physiology, the components of treatments and when and how to apply them, and the causes, symptoms, and treatment of obstructive, restrictive, vascular, and neoplastic lung disorders Ideal reference and review for nursing students, new nurses, and respiratory therapists, with clear, concise direction on areas such as: Respiratory assessment techniques Diagnostic procedures Airway maintenance Oxygen delivery Chest drainage Suctioning Ventilatory support Treating infection and inflammation Assessing and treating traumatic injuries and other respiratory emergencies Care of patients receiving extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) and end-tidal CO2 monitoring Recognizing an asthma attack Preoperative and postoperative care for patients having a thoracotomy or lung transplant Computed tomography (CT) and x-ray imaging Chapter features that provide learning aids and on-the-unit support: Just the facts --quick summary of chapter content Kids' korner --seasoned guidance on caring for pediatric patients Clinical pearls --clear-cut explanations of symptoms and disorders, backed by direction and advice on treatment Advice from the experts --expert input on respiratory care Home care --helpful guidance on teaching patient self-care Breath sounds -- online access to breath sounds Nurses Joy and Jake --Practical advice and experienced insights offered throughout Memory jogger --simple techniques for remembering vital information About the Clinical Editor Rose Knapp, DNP, RN, APN-BC, is an Acute Care Nurse Practitioner and Associate Graduate Faculty MSN Program Director and APN Program Coordinator at Monmouth University in West Long Branch, New Jersey.
West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology by
West's Pulmonary Pathophysiology: The Essentials offers accessible explanations of disease processes that affect the respiratory system. This best-selling companion to West's Respiratory Physiology, Tenth Edition, has served generations of students. Dr. John B. West, together with new co-author Dr. Andrew M. Luks, presents the vital knowledge you need in a concise, straightforward manner that's easy to understand. Learn the very latest on COPD, asthma, restrictive lung disease, pulmonary hypertension, and much more. See how pathophysiology applies to clinical practice with clinical vignettes in every chapter, followed by multiple-choice questions and answers to test your comprehension. Visualize concepts vividly with the aid of new radiographs, CT images, and color photomicrographs. Study with ease through abundant chapter outlines, Key Concepts boxes, bulleted review sections, and other helpful summaries. Prepare for exams with 75 multiple-choice review questions, accompanied by answers and explanations, inside the book as well as in an Interactive Question Bank online.
Rau's Respiratory Care Pharmacology by
Take the easiest path to respiratory pharmacology mastery with Rau's Respiratory Care Pharmacology, 9th Edition. With broken-down terminology, relatable explanations, and reader-friendly writing, Rau simplifies the process of learning pharmacology material like never before to prepare you for success on your exams and in professional practice! This new edition includes the most recent advances related to apneic and asthmatic pharmacology, twice the number of clinical scenarios, more drug formulation tables, and a new mobile app for interactive drug flashcards. Enhanced readability helps readers more easily understand difficult material. Full-color design makes the text more reader-friendly and helps the learner to identify relevant details within an illustration. Learning objectives parallel the levels tested by the NBRC exams to help readers identify important information that goes beyond memorization and recall. Key terms with definitions provide easy access to the pharmacologic vocabulary readers should embrace. Key points in each chapter highlight important concepts in the lesson. Self-assessment questions offer readers the opportunity to test themselves on content learned with thought-provoking questions that require short answers. Clinical scenarios with follow-up SOAP assessment help readers assess their comprehension of the material. Glossary of all key terms in the text aids readers in understanding the terminology associated with respiratory care pharmacology. Appendices on common units, systems of measurement, and acceptable mixtures provides references to need-to-know information such as abbreviations, conversion charts for temperatures, liquid metric and solids, and a simple drug compatibility chart for drug mixtures. Alphabetical drug index offers a direct index to look up information based on drug name. NEW! Recent advances related to apneic and asthmatic pharmacology familiarize readers with current information. NEW! Twice the number of clinical scenarios engages the reader and helps them apply what they have learned. NEW! Mobile app for interactive drug flashcards provides a more technology-savvy, portable approach to the study and review of respiratory pharmacology. NEW! More drug formulation tables that include drug categories, brand names, and dosages provide a go to reference for better consistency and readability.
Egan's Fundamentals of Respiratory Care by
Designed for optimal student learning for over 40 years, Egan''s Fundamentals of Respiratory Care, 11th Edition provides you with the strong background you need to succeed in the field of respiratory care. Nicknamed "the Bible for respiratory care," it helps you gain a thorough understanding of the role of respiratory therapists, the scientific basis for treatment, and clinical applications. Comprehensive chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the TM-CE to successfully prepare you for clinical and credentialing exam success. Always in step with the ever-changing field of respiratory care, this easy-to-read new edition features five new chapters, as well as new information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, simulation, and an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system. User-friendly full-color design calls attention to special features to enhance learning. Evolve learning resources include PowerPoint slides, Test Bank questions, an English-Spanish glossary, an image collection, a Body Spectrum Anatomy Coloring Book, and student lecture notes that enhance instructors'' teaching and students'' learning. Student Workbook reflects the text''s updated content and serves as a practical study guide offering numerous case studies, experiments, and hands-on activities. Therapist-Driven Protocols (TDPs) used by RTs in hospitals to assess a patient, initiate care, and evaluate outcomes, are incorporated throughout the text to develop your critical thinking skills and teach the value of following an established protocol. Expert authorship from the leading figures in respiratory care ensures that critical content is covered thoroughly and accurately. Excerpts of 40 published Clinical Practice Guidelines provide you with important information regarding patient care, indications/contraindications, hazards and complications, assessment of need, and assessment of outcome and monitoring. UNIQUE! Egan''s trusted reputation as the preeminent fundamental respiratory care textbook for more than 40 years maintains its student focus and comprehensive coverage while keeping in step with the profession. Updated content reflects changes in the industry to ensure it is both current and clinically accurate and prepares you for a career as a respiratory therapist in today''s health care environment. UNIQUE! Mini Clinis give you an opportunity to apply text content to actual patient care through short, critical-thinking case scenarios. Mini Clinis can also be used as a point of focus in class discussion to strengthen students'' critical thinking skills. UNIQUE! Rules of Thumb highlight rules, formulas, and key points that are important to clinical practice. Bulleted learning objectives aligned with summary checklists to highlight key content at the beginning and at the end of each chapter, paralleling the three areas tested on the 2015 NBRC Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination: recall, analysis, and application. NEW! Five all-new chapters bring you the most current information on the fundamentals of respiratory care research, flexible bronchoscopy, trauma, burns, near drowning, patient ventilator interaction, and extracorporeal life support (ECLS). NEW and EXPANDED! The latest information on online charting systems, patient databases, research databases, meaningful use, and simulation, plus an expanded discussion of the electronic medical record system, provides you with the knowledge needed for clinical and examination success. NEW! All chapters correlate to the most up-to-date 2015 NBRC Detailed Content Outline for the Therapist Multiple-Choice Examination (TM-CE) so you are prepared to excel on the NBRC credentialing examination. NEW! Easy-to-read, updated chapters with new data in respiratory care, a more fluid writing style, and an improved reading level help you better understand difficult concepts.
Respiratory Care in Non Invasive Mechanical Ventilatory Support: Principles and Practice by
Non-invasive ventilation refers to the use of breathing support administered through a face mask, nasal mask, or helmet. This form of ventilatory support is useful in the treatment of respiratory illnesses including SARS, MERS, PH1N1, and COVID-19. Consisting of 63 chapters, this book provides a detailed, holistic overview of the principles and practice of non-invasive mechanical ventilatory support.
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training by
Respiratory Muscle Strength Training is a clinical guide, intended to provide clinicians with the background information they need to understand respiratory muscle strength training (RMST). With a variety of case studies provided by well-known authors and clinicians, this text acts as a guidebook to the RMST protocol and provides practical information for use in the field of healthcare. In addition to real-world case studies, Respiratory Muscle Strength Training includes a chapter devoted to Frequently Asked Questions, a representative sample of the devices commonly used for respiratory training, and instructions for using them in patient care.
Handbook of Pulmonary Rehabilitation by
In the last three decades, Pulmonary Rehabilitation (PR) has become a cornerstone in the comprehensive management of Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) and other chronic respiratory diseases in adults and children, supported by solid physiological bases and wide scientific evidence, with randomized controlled trials, meta-analysis and several guidelines. PR programs are customized to the needs of each patient and carried out by a multidisciplinary team of healthcare specialists (medical specialists in medical rehabilitation and pulmonology, functional explorations, geriatric physicians, nurses, physiotherapists, nutritionists, psychologists, respiratory therapists, occupational therapists, bioengineers, pharmacologists, in collaboration with a family doctor and pharmacists). As a comprehensive intervention, PR involves good collaboration and communication between team members, thus ensuring maximum comfort and benefit to the patient. PR programs improve the quality of life of patients by increasing their degree of independence and reducing the number of exacerbations, the days of hospitalization due to them, and costs. PR has the ability to reduce symptomatic burden, in particular dyspnea, and muscle deconditioning. In turn, it can increase exercise capacity, reduce anxiety and depression, and improve patients' psycho-emotional status and social reintegration. PR is the standard of care for patients with chronic lung diseases motivated to participate in the rehabilitation program to become more physically active and more independent, being an integral part of clinical management and maintaining health.
Handbook of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine by
This handbook is an abridged version of the multi-authored Textbook of Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Two Volume Set (ISBN 9789350250730). It is a concise, practical guide to the diagnosis and management of pulmonary disorders, and includes the basic principles as well as the recent advances in allied clinical sciences relevant to pulmonology and critical care. The handbook contains over 200 images and illustrations, and covers a range of pulmonary conditions. It also discusses topics related to pulmonary disease, such as pregnancy, smoking, aviation and space travel, climate change and high altitude. The Chief Editor of this book, SK Jindal, was awarded the Outstanding Educator Award by the American Thoracic Society, in 2011.