How to Do a Literature Review: Finding Information

Subject Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and Handbooks

Use subject encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks to find background information on your topic. Background information will help you to understand the historical, cultural, and disciplinary context of your topic. Use the bibliographies and references found at the end of the encyclopedia articles or dictionary entries for further research.

Search Effectively!

Background information will also help you to identify some of the key terms associated with your topic.  These can be used as search terms when you begin your research in the library's online catalog and/or library databases.  Make a list of all the keywords that describe your topic.  Also, consult with your instructor or librarian for other key terms that you may have missed.

For effective research, it is essential that you devise a good research strategy.  Try using a search strategy worksheet to build a strong search strategy by identifying the key concepts in your topic.

• Write out a clear, detailed statement of your topic.
• Identify the key concepts in your topic statement.
• List the words that the authors would used to describe the key concepts.
• Build a search from the concept words.
• Search Strategy Worksheet
  (Program developed by Librarians from Ohio Universities)
• Sample Search Strategy Worksheet
• Search Strategy Worksheet using PICO Format
  (From Dartmouth Biomedical Libraries)

Use boolean operators to connect concept words.
      The boolean operator AND:

•  Combines different concepts
• Retrieves bibliographic records containing all concept words

        The boolean operator OR:

• Use for concept synonyms
• Retrieves all records containing one or more of the concept words
• Use subject headings for concepts with many synonyms

        The boolean operator NOT:

• Excludes unrelated search concepts when search word has multiple senses
• Be careful using!

For more effective searching, use the advanced search features in the online catalog and article databases. Use Power Search in the online catalog to help you refine or limit a search based on criteria. Searches can include a single word or several words that are linked together with boolean operators.  The advanced search features in the article databases also allow you to refine or limit a search and combine terms using boolean operators. 

PTC Library Resources for Finding Books:

Search the library's online catalog and eBook collections to find books on your topic.  The library has over 103 online article databases.  Use the appropriate subject database(s) to find journal articles for your topic. 

Also, exploit the references and bibliographies that you find in sources to further your research. Check to see if the materials listed are available at the PTC Libraries.  To find books, articles and other materials outside of the PTC Libraries, check to see what libraries own them. Use PASCAL Delivers and Interlibrary Loan to borrow material from other libraries.  For information about these, see the box in the upper right corner of this page.  Check with your librarian for assistance with this.

• PASCAL Delivers
  PASCAL Delivers is service that enables PTC students and employees to search and request books from other SC libraries and sends them to the PTC Library for you to check out.
   
• Interlibrary Loan
  Interlibrary loan is a service that enables PTC students and employees to request books or articles from other participating libraries worldwide.