Start Your Research with Reference Sources
Reference resources are great for finding introductory material on a topic. They include encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, handbooks, directories, manuals and etc. Reference books can help you:
This page pulls together a sample of both print and electronic reference tools, and an example of how to start your search with reference materials and find additional resources with more detailed information.
Reference Resources
The following are good resources for overviews, definitions, and background information:
21st Century Funeral Directing and Funeral Service Management by 
The A-Z of Death and Dying: social, medical, and cultural aspects by
This engaging and informative resource provides readers with an understanding of the social, cultural, and historical influences that shape our encounters with death, dying, and bereavement--a universal experience across humanity. Written in an engaging and accessible style by leading international scholars and practitioners from within the field of death and bereavement studies, this book will have broad appeal, providing in a single volume insights from some of the key thinkers within the interdisciplinary field of death, dying, and bereavement. Its approximately 200 entries will serve as useful starting points for those new to the topic and will be informative to those already acquainted with some of the core concepts and ideas within this burgeoning field of inquiry. This encyclopedia will serve as an essential resource for high school and undergraduate students, those engaged in independent research, and professionals whose work involves caring for the dead, dying, and bereaved. It will also be of great interest to general readers intrigued by the social, medical, and cultural dimensions to human mortality. Underscored by the inescapable biological certainties that affect us all, The A-Z of Death and Dying offers a highly relevant examination of the social and historical variation in the rituals, practices, and beliefs surrounding the end of life.
The American Heritage Dictionary of Idioms by
From "all systems go" to "senior moment"--a comprehensive reference to idiomatic English. The American Heritage® Dictionary of Idioms explores the meanings and origins of idioms that may not make literal sense but play an important role in the language--including phrasal verbs such as kick back, proverbs such as too many cooks spoil the broth, interjections such as tough beans, and figures of speech such as elephant in the room. With extensive revisions that reflect new historical scholarship and changes in the English language, this second edition defines over 10,000 idiomatic expressions in greater detail than any other dictionary available today--a remarkable reference for those studying the English language, or anyone who enjoys learning its many wonderful quirks and expressions. "Invaluable as a teaching tool." --School Library Journal
Atlas of World Religions by
Featuring more than sixty brand new maps, photographs, diagrams and charts, the Atlas of World Religions is an essential companion to any study on the key religions of the world. The concise, helpful text written by acknowledged authorities guides the experience and helps readers to interpret the visuals. Consciously written for students of all levels, this volume is perfect for individual or course-based study.
Encyclopedia of Cremation by
The Encyclopedia of Cremation is the first major reference resource focused on cremation. Spanning many world cultures it documents regional histories, ideological movements and leading individuals that fostered cremation whilst also presenting cremation as a universal practice. Tracing ancient and classical cremation sites, historical and contemporary cremation processes and procedures of both scientific and legal kind, the encyclopedia also includes sections on specific cremation rituals, architecture, art and text. Features in the volume include: a general introduction and editorial introductions to sub-sections by Douglas Davies, an international specialist in death studies; appendices of world cremation statistics and a chronology of cremation; cross-referencing pathways through the entries via the index; individual entry bibliographies; and illustrations. This major international reference work is also an essential source book for students on the growing number of death-studies courses and wider studies in religion, anthropology or sociology.
Encyclopedia of Death and Dying by
This is a reference source for death, dying and related concepts. It should prove a useful resource for teachers, researchers, professionals and for all those with a lay interest in issues of mortality. There has, over the last 10 to 15 years of the 20th century, been an upsurge in academic, professional and lay interest in mortality. This is reflected in academic and professional literature; in the popular media; and in the proliferation of professional roles and training courses associated with aspects of death and dying. Despite its all pervading significance, however, the majority of texts in death and dying have been designed for particular disciplinary audiences and as such they deal, in depth, with specific academic or professional concerns. By contrast, this volume offers readers a wide range of information that draws from many disciplines and isolated professions in the arts, humanities, medicine, sciences, and social sciences.
The Essential Bible Dictionary by
Provides quick and reliable information on the most important people, places, and concepts found in the Bible, as well as explanations for difficult-to-understand terms. The Essential Bible Dictionary is a compact reference tool for any reader of Scripture. Unlike similar Bible dictionaries and study aids, this essential dictionary is designed to streamline Bible reading and comprehension and is focused exclusively on proper nouns and words for which a special biblical usage requires comment. In addition to defining words, places, people, and the many themes of the Bible, you'll find: Full-color images, maps, illustrations, and diagrams throughout. Succinct book overviews (arranged alphabetically) with orientating information on author, content, background, and purpose. Phonetic pronunciation key for each entry. Important cross-references for further study. Ideal for use in devotions or personal Bible study, The Essential Bible Dictionary is a storehouse of information that will bring the everyday world of the Bible to life. Can be used with any translation of the Bible.
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychology by
The Penguin Dictionary of Psychologyhas become a byword for demystifying the language of this complex subject. Now fully updated for its fourth edition, this wide-ranging and accessible dictionary is invaluable for both students and professionals, and an indispensable guide to all areas of psychology and psychiatry. -Covers related fields such as neuroscience and social psychology -Describes how terms are employed, their wider connotations and past usage -Looks in detail at such key concepts as addiction and instinct
Credo Reference combines a host of reference resources into one place. It also contains a mind map of terms and how they relate to each other to help you explore your topic further.
When I couldn't find much immediately in Credo on green burial, I turned to the Online Catalog and found a book on green burial and a video from Films on Demand on the topic. I also searched the New York Times for news coverage of green burial.
The Green Burial Guidebook: Everything You Need to Plan an Affordable, Environmentally Friendly Burial by 
Natural Burial: traditional-secular spiritualities and funeral innovation by
From the 1990s the British developed an interest in natural burial, also known as woodland, green, or ecological burial. Natural burial constitutes part of a long, historical legacy for British funeral innovation; from Victorian cemetery monuments and garden cemeteries through the birth and rise of cremation to the many things done with cremated remains. The book sets natural burial in the context of such creative dealing with death, grief, mourning, and the celebration of life. Themes from sociology and anthropology combine with psychological issues and theological ideas to show how human emotions take shape and help people consider their own death whilst also dealing with the death of those they love. The authors explore the variety of motivations for people to engage with natural burial and its popular appeal, using interviews with people having a relationship with one natural burial site created by the Church of England but open to all. They illustrate people's understandings of life and death in the sacred, secular and mixed worlds of modern Britain.
