LibGuides: Funeral Services: Find Articles

Using the Databases

Use the databases to search for journal, magazine and newspaper articles.

(For off-campus access to the library's databases and other electronic resources, you will be prompted for your P-number and PIN (your six-digit date of birth).

You may also link to a complete listing of the library databases.

Journal/Magazine/Newspaper Articles

Databases are available to PTC students, faculty, and staff 24/7 from anywhere

Because the Funeral Services subject covers many subjects such as history, anthropology, anatomy, law, business, psychology, and religion, research in this topic will depend on your course assignment. Use the database(s) that covers your assignment's subject area(s) to find journal, magazine and newspaper articles. Use Ask-a-Librarian chat in the tab Need Help? to get assistance. The following are just a few of the databases especially useful for research in funeral services.

Associates Programs Source This link opens in a new window Designed specifically for the research needs of two-year college students, the database covers subjects as wide-ranging as: computer & data processing, CAD, cosmetology, graphic arts, health information technology, interior design, law enforcement & criminal justice, paralegal studies, welding and dozens more equally varied areas of study.
3D Human Anatomy & Physiology Online This link opens in a new window Includes modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, as well as dissection slides, clinical case studies, and more.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Covers most academic topics including biology, business, chemistry, education, engineering, law, mathematics, music, philosophy, physics, political science, psychology, religion, theology, and more.
Applied Science and Technology Full Text This link opens in a new window Covering a wide variety of applied science specialties—from acoustics and aeronautics, to neural networks and nuclear & civil engineering—Applied Science & Technology Full Text provides full-text content and in-depth indexing and abstracts from leading trade and industrial journals, professional and technical society journals, specialized subject periodicals, buyers’ guides, directories and conference proceedings.
JSTOR Collection This link opens in a new window Includes full-text articles of more than 2,600 academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and natural sciences
Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new window Newspaper Source™ Plus includes more than 1,000 full-text newspapers, providing more than 38 million full-text articles. The database contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window Full-text coverage for regional business publications, incorporating coverage of business journals, newspapers and newswires from all U.S. metropolitan and rural areas.
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection This link opens in a new window Full-text access to journals - including peer-reviewed journals - that cover anthropology, behavior, emotion, mental health, psychiatry and psychology, and observational and experimental methods.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window A comprehensive database covering topics such as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

PTC Print Journals

Our print journals are located in the magazine section at the Greenwood library. The library has current subscriptions to the following journals:

American Funeral Director
Library keeps the last 5 years.
Funeral Service Journal
Library keeps the last 5 years.
Mortuary Management
Library keeps June 2011- September 2016
Southern Funeral Director
Library keeps the last 5 years.