Have you ever considered book design as a form of commercial art and advertising? Sure, we aren't supposed to judge a book by its cover, but cover art still matters! In the suggested titles below, check out The Design of Books by graphic designer Debbie Berne. She has over 20 years of experience and clearly explains every aspect of book design for print and ebook formats. She also introduces the reader to the potential clients a book designer might work with in the publishing industry.
Browse the stacks in the General Collection, LCCN sections NB-NC and TR6-TR940, for more titles on commercial art. You can also order books from other SC college libraries through PASCAL Delivers. Use the search box below to search the library's online catalog for books:
100 Ideas That Changed Graphic Design
by
New in the "100 Ideas that Changed..." series, this book demonstrates how ideas influenced and defined graphic design, and how those ideas have manifested themselves in objects of design. The 100 entries, arranged broadly in chronological order, range from technical (overprinting, rub-on designs, split fountain); to stylistic (swashes on caps, loud typography, and white space); to objects (dust jackets, design handbooks); and methods (paper cut-outs, pixelation).
Creativity in Art, Design and Technology
by
This is an open access book. Creativity is a difficult concept, how can it best be defined, understood, applied, and practiced? This book provides important answers to these questions. Technology can enable artists to be more creative. Scientific and artistic thinking give us two complementary tools to understand the complexity of the world, with science reducing subjective experience to essential principles and art intensifying and expanding our experiences. These examples also show how artists can push the boundaries of technology into exciting new realms that have not been explored before. The impact that art and art practice can have on culture, society, and social responsibility is explored in detail through examples and case studies. In addition, the book presents how artists are creating and reflecting cultural and societal resonance in their work. Can other disciplines help artists to be morecreative? All are part of an interrelated wider society and enables artists to develop artwork fit for highly interfaced and conceptually broad contemporary contexts. This is illustrated with examples which show exciting and challenging results. Creativity in Art, Design and Technology is relevant for artists, designers, scientists and technologists. All can benefit in a major way from a greater understanding of creativity, and the ways in which mutual interaction and collaboration enables all areas to develop. The potential for the future is immense and this book signposts the way forward.
A Designer's Research Manual, 2nd Edition, Updated and Expanded
by
Go beyond crafting a logo or brochure and learn what it takes to design a commercial success.
The Design of Books: An Explainer for Authors, Editors, Agents, and Other Curious Readers
by
Seasoned designer Debbie Berne presents an accessible introduction to book design for authors, editors, and other book people. Design is central to the appeal, messaging, and usefulness of books, but to most readers, it's mysterious or even invisible. Through interiors as well as covers, designers provide structure and information that shape the meaning and experience of books. In The Design of Books, Debbie Berne shines a light on the conventions and processes of her profession, revealing both the aesthetic and market-driven decisions designers consider to make books readable and beautiful. In clear, unstuffy language, Berne reveals how books are put together, with discussions of production considerations, typography and fonts, page layouts, use of images and color, special issues for ebooks, and the very face of each book: the cover. The Design of Books speaks to readers and directly to books' creators--authors, editors, and other publishing professionals--helping them to become more informed partners in the design of their projects. Berne lays out the practical steps at each stage of the design process, providing insight into who does what when and offering advice for authors on how to be effective advocates for their ideas while also letting go and trusting their manuscripts with teams of professionals. She includes guidance as well for self-publishing authors, including where to find a designer, what to expect from that relationship, and how to art direct your own book. Throughout, Berne teaches how understanding the whats, hows, and whys of book design heightens our appreciation of these cherished objects and helps everyone involved in the process to create more functional, desirable, and wonderful books.
Design Principles for Photography
by
In an age over-saturated with photographic imagery, Design Principles for Photography demonstrates how design awareness can add a new level of depth to your images. By adapting and experimenting with the tried and tested techniques used by graphic designers every day, you can add dynamism and impact to your imagery, whatever the style or genre - something that today's editors, curators and publishers are all crying out for.The second edition includes examples of unsuccessful compositions, annotated images highlighting key techniques and an expanded glossary. There's also a new section on movements in photography and their reflection in composition, including modernism, expressionism, and surrealism and interviews with international practitioners discussing how they've included design principles in their work. Featured topics: Basic design theory; the use of space; positional decisions; the elements of design; line; shape or form; space; texture; light; colour; pattern; rhythm; contrast; scale and proportion; abstraction; movement and flow; containment; emphasis and emotion; justaposition; incongruity; mood and emotion.
The Fundamentals of Typography
by
Demonstrating the power and variety of typography from hand-drawn to kinetic, this fully updated new edition of The Fundamentals of Typography covers the principles of using type across a range of media. Starting with a comprehensive introduction to the history of typography, the authors provide detailed explanations and inspirational examples of type usage from leading practitioners from around the world. With expanded practice exercises and four new case studies, this book gives students everything they need to know to use type effectively and creatively.
The Graphic Design Process: How to Be Successful in Design School
by
One of the main challenges students face upon entering design school is little knowledge of the field, its terminology and best practices. Unsurprisingly, most new students have never fully developed a concept or visual idea, been in a critique, or have been asked to explain their work to others. This book demystifies what design school is really like and explains what will be experienced at each stage, with particular focus on practical advice on topics like responding to design briefs and developing ideas, building up confidence and understanding what is expected. · Student work is critiqued to show how projects are really assessed· Profiles highlight how professional designers themselves address client briefs· Tips for real-life problems are outlined, like getting stuck and dealing with critical feedback Written by experienced instructors, this is the perfect guide for those starting their design education.
The Language of Graphic Design Revised and Updated
by
Provides graphic design students and practitioners with an in-depth understanding of the fundamental elements and principles of their language - graphic design.
Learning Vector Illustration with Adobe Illustrator
by
When you begin using vector illustration software it can be confusing and frustrating to even work out how to make a mark on the page - but this new hybrid approach to learning integrates tutorial videos and step-by-step projects to help you becoming confident in no time. Starting with first principles, this book introduces you to all the important tools and processes - from the basics of Bezier curves to applying meshes - so you can quickly and efficiently create your own designs. As you learn each skill there are projects for you to try out, and by the end of the book you'll build up to a major design project to put all your new abilities into practice.
Made by James: The Honest Guide to Creativity and Logo Design
by
"Design better logos and become a more successful, confident graphic designer with Made by James as your guide. *Winner of the 2021 American Graphic Design Award for Book Design from Graphic Design USA* UK-based graphic designer James Martin shares his wealth of experience, information, and advice with one goal in mind: to help designers of all levels create better work and enjoy the process. James has designed hundreds of logos for a variety of top brands, and shares his unique creative process, from concept to sketches to final design. Learn how to create outstanding logos, craft and refine your creative process, build great relationships with clients, and become prolific and consistent. Discover how James creates innovative, clever, and memorable logos with his own hands-on, step-by-step process that includes word mapping, rapid prototyping, and sketching ideas on paper. Learn how to become a visual storyteller by understanding the key factors of working with clients and making them a valued part of the process. In addition to the important "hows" of logo design--techniques, ideas, and examples of creating logos and building brands--you will benefit from learning aspects of the business rarely discussed: how to become more disciplined, how to see failures as valuable experiences, and ways to avoid burnout. James shows that design isn't just about creating images; it's about building trusting relationships with clients, finding inspiration and using it effectively, and sharing ideas and becoming part of a community. Made by James also includes: Annotated case studies that follow designs from concept to completion The advantages of a hands-on, human approach to design The value of personal and career growth, and how to enjoy the journey of improvement Effective work habits that can make you more efficient, productive, and satisfied Learn how to harness your passion and become the designer you've always wanted to be." -- Publisher's description.
In the Online Catalog, find the 3 dots in the middle of the top of the webpage. Click on 'Collections Discovery' or follow the link below to view our Graphic Novel Collection.
A Contract with God and Other Stories of Dropsie Avenue
by
This Norton Critical Edition includes: Jared Gardner's insightful introduction and explanatory notes. Generous selections from four of Will Eisner's major graphic novels and story collections, carefully chosen with student readers in mind. Will Eisner's interviews and published writing on comics and the graphic novel genre from 1978 to 2000. Thirteen wide-ranging reviews and assessments of Eisner's works. Critical essays by Andrew J. Kunka, Paul Williams, Jeremy Dauber, Greg M. Smith, and Derek Parker Royal. A chronology of Will Eisner's life and work and a selected bibliography.
Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme, and Technique
by
The Second Edition of Critical Survey of Graphic Novels: History, Theme & Technique contains over 80 essays covering themes and concepts of graphic novels. It includes genres, time periods, foreign language traditions, social relevance, and craftsmanship such as penciling and inking.
Neil Gaiman's Snow, Glass, Apples
by
Winner of the 2020 Bram Stoker Award® for Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel! A chilling fantasy retelling of the Snow White fairy tale by New York Times bestselling creators Neil Gaiman and Colleen Doran! A not-so-evil queen is terrified of her monstrous stepdaughter and determined to repel this creature and save her kingdom from a world where happy endings aren't so happily ever after. From the Hugo, Bram Stoker, Locus, World Fantasy, Nebula award-winning, and New York Times bestselling writer Neil Gaiman (American Gods) comes this graphic novel adaptation by Colleen Doran (Troll Bridge)!
What the Font?! - a Manga Guide to Western Typeface
by
A unique and engaging tool for learning about design using anthropomorphized Western fonts! When the designer in a small production company disappears, Marusu is forced to take over the job of creating logos. Unfortunately, Marusu is a sales rep who doesn't know the first thing about fonts. Luckily, Helvetica, the personification of that font, appears to guide Marusu into the world of typeface and design. Learn about typography in this fun manga story with anthropomorphic fonts as your guide!
PTC students and employees are able to use online library resources from off-campus. When off-campus, you will be asked to enter a username and password to use the databases. For the username, enter your college P number. Use your 6-digit birth date as the password.
Our eBook collection is enormous. Here are a couple examples, follow the link below to explore on your own!
Stop, Think, Go, Do: How Typography and Graphic Design Influence Behavior
by
This revolutionary guide is not only the first to look at how typography in design creates a call to action, but it also explores type and image as language. The book is packed with arresting imagery from around the world that influences human behaviour.
The Psychology of Advertising
by
The Psychology of Advertising offers a comprehensive exploration of theory and research in (consumer) psychology on how advertising impacts the thoughts, emotions and actions of consumers. It links psychological theories and empirical research findings to real-life industry examples, showing how scientific research can inform marketing practice. Advertising is a ubiquitous and powerful force, seducing us into buying wanted and sometimes unwanted products and services, donating to charitable causes, voting for political candidates and changing our health-related lifestyles for better or worse. This revised and fully updated third edition of The Psychology of Advertising offers a comprehensive and state-of-the art overview of psychological theorizing and research on the impact of online and offline advertising and discusses how the traces consumers leave on the Internet (their digital footprint) guides marketers in micro-targeting their advertisements. The new edition also includes new coverage of big data, privacy, personalization and materialism, and engages with the issue of the replication crisis in psychology, and what that means in relation to studies in the book. Including a glossary of key concepts, updated examples and illustrations, this is a unique and invaluable resource for advanced undergraduate and graduate students and instructors. Suitable for psychology, advertising, marketing and media courses. It is also a valuable guide for professionals working in advertising, public health, public services and political communication.
PTC students and employees are able to use online library resources from off-campus. When off-campus, you will be asked to enter a username and password to use the databases. For the username, enter your college P number. Use your 6-digit birth date as the password.
Our eBook collection is enormous. Here are a couple examples, follow the link below to explore on your own!
The Fundamentals of Illustration
by
The Fundamentals of Illustration 2nd Edition by Lawrence Zeegen introduces students to the subject of illustration, taking them through the key skills and practical processes required for the study of this exciting degree course.This edition has been updated with a wealth of fresh visuals and contemporary case studies. It includes new and revised content and examples that reflect the changes and developments in the discipline over the past few years. Current visual approaches are examined and evaluated, along with new chapters on visual thinking, idea generation and the illustrator as an artist.A chapter on the professional practice of a freelance designer helps students to understand the realities of this creative career path.Each chapter concludes with a case study, which outlines a brief and then describes each stage of the process, from the illustrator's initial response to the completion of the project. The case studies feature the work of: John Clementson, Tim Vyner, Olivier Kugler, Damian Gascoigne, Ben Kelly and Howard Read. The book also contains a series of interviews with practising illustrators such as Autumn Whitehurst, Stina Persson and Anthony Burrill.
Drawing with a Tablet: Easy Techniques for Mastering Digital Drawing on Location
by
In Drawing with a Tablet: Easy Techniques for Mastering Digital Drawing on Location, readers will learn step by step how to create amazing drawings while on the go. In the sixth volume of the Urban Sketching Handbook series, popular artist and workshop instructor Uma Kelkar shows sketchers how to take their digital drawing to the next level. Whether you are new to sketching or wish to try the latest technology, this useful guide shares expert tips and techniques for drawing on a tablet. With a focus on using the ProCreate tool, but with information that is relevant to other digital platforms, you will start with the basics, such as opening your file, choosing your resolution, determining your palette, and how to simplify your tools by creating a preferred set of brushes. The book also covers using layers and groups of layers, and shows you how to create a sketch from start to finish. Whether you are drawing at home, en plein air, on the go, or even at night, learn how to enliven your digital drawings and enhance your skills.
PTC students and employees are able to use online library resources from off-campus. When off-campus, you will be asked to enter a username and password to use the databases. For the username, enter your college P number. Use your 6-digit birth date as the password.
Our eBook collection is enormous. Here are a couple examples, follow the link below to explore on your own!
Digital Gaming and the Advertising Landscape
by
The evolution of the game industry and changes in the advertising landscape in recent years have led to a keen interest of marketers in using digital games for advertising purposes. However, despite the increasing interest in this marketing strategy, the potential of digital games as a medium to convey advertising messages remains unexploited. Digital Gaming and the Advertising Landscapeexplores the different ways advertising messages can be embedded within digital games. An interdisciplinary approach is used to help explain how persuasive communication works within digital games. It does so by forging new links within the area of game studies where the emphasis of this book clearly lies, while also taking up new subjects such as design theories and their relation to games as well as how this relationship may be used in a practical context.
Game Development Using Python
by
This book will guide you through the basic game development process using Python, covering game topics including graphics, sound, artificial intelligence, animation, game engines, etc. Real games are created as you work through the text and significant parts of a game engine are built and made available for download. New chapters on card games and a side-scroller. The companion files contain all of the resources described in the book, e.g., example code, game assets, video/sound editing software, and color figures. Instructor resources are available for use as a textbook. FEATURES: Teaches basic game development concepts using Python including graphics, sound,artificial intelligence, animation, game engines, collision detection, Web-based games, and more Includes code samples using Pygame Features new chapters on card games (Ch.11) and building a side-scrolling game (Ch.12) Includes a companion disc with example code, games assets, and color figures The companion files and instructor resources are available online by emailing the publisher with proof of purchase at info@merclearning.com.
PTC students and employees are able to use online library resources from off-campus. When off-campus, you will be asked to enter a username and password to use the databases. For the username, enter your college P number. Use your 6-digit birth date as the password.
Our eBook collection is enormous. Here are a couple examples, follow the link below to explore on your own!
A Companion to Photography
by
The study of photography has never been more important. A look at today's digital world reveals that a greater number of photographs are being taken each day than at any other moment in history. Countless photographs are disseminated instantly online and more and more photographic images are earning prominent positions--and garnering record prices--in the rarefied realm of top art galleries. Reflecting this dramatic increase in all things photographic, A Companion to Photography presents a comprehensive collection of original essays that explore a variety of key areas of current debate around the state of photography in the twenty-first century. Essays are grouped and organized in themed sections--including photographic interpretation, markets, popular photography, documents, and fine art--and provide comprehensive coverage of the subject. Representing a diversity of approaches, essays are written by both established and emerging photographers and scholars, as well as various experts in their respective areas. A Companion to Photography offers scholars and professional photographers alike an essential and up-to-date resource that brings the study of contemporary photography into clear focus.
Start your own photography business : your step-by-step guide to success, 3rd edition
by
This third edition has been completely revised to address the photography industry's transformation to digital and help readers start, run, and grow their own successful photography business.
Who are the big names in commercial art and graphic design? How do historic artistic movements evoke different responses in the viewer, and when are these styles effective in advertising? What type of clients might request designs or logos reminiscent of art deco, or '80s nostalgia? What do historians say about how advertisement design has influenced popular culture?
Advertising Menswear: Masculinity and Fashion in the British Media Since 1945
by
Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2014In what was a golden age of British advertising, the notion of the 'peacock male' was a strong theme in fashion promotion, reflecting a new affluence and the emergence of stylish youth cultures. Based on a detailed study of rich archival material, this pioneering study examines the production, circulation and consumption of print, television and cinema publicity for men's clothing in Britain during the second half of the twentieth century.The study explores design issues and period style in advertising, the role of market research and consumer psychology in determining target audiences, the idea of the 'new man' in representing fashionable masculinities, and the various ways that menswear retailers and brands dealt with sex and gender, race, class and age. From y-fronts to Austin Reed suits to Levi's jeans, menswear advertising epitomised the themes, stereotypes, contradictions and ambiguities of masculinity in an age of great social change. This meticulously researched and detailed work of scholarship will be essential reading for students and scholars of fashion, history, sociology, advertising, media, cultural and gender studies.
Early Automobiles: A History in Advertising Line Art, 1890-1930
by
Image archivist and transportation historian Jim Harter follows his work, Early Farm Tractors, with an even larger collection of images from advertising line art from 1880 to 1930, this time focused on Early Automobiles. Nearly 250 entrancing illustrations -- many suitable for framing -- are gems of the art of commercial engraving. Harter provides a very substantial, detailed history of the development of the "horseless carriage" into the brands famous from the early 20th century -- racers like Stutz, Dusenberg, Stanley, as well as those that became household names like Oldsmobile, Ford, Chrysler and others. The history includes many colorful anecdotes about early long-distance races as well as interesting details of engineering breakthroughs.
Good Pictures: A History of Popular Photography
by
A picture-rich field guide to American photography, from daguerreotype to digital. We are all photographers now, with camera phones in hand and social media accounts at the ready. And we know which pictures we like. But what makes a "good picture"? And how could anyone think those old styles were actually good? Soft-focus yearbook photos from the '80s are now hopelessly--and happily--outdated, as are the low-angle portraits fashionable in the 1940s or the blank stares of the 1840s. From portraits to products, landscapes to food pics, Good Pictures proves that the history of photography is a history of changing styles. In a series of short, engaging essays, Kim Beil uncovers the origins of fifty photographic trends and investigates their original appeal, their decline, and sometimes their reuse by later generations of photographers. Drawing on a wealth of visual material, from vintage how-to manuals to magazine articles for working photographers, this full-color book illustrates the evolution of trends with hundreds of pictures made by amateurs, artists, and commercial photographers alike. Whether for selfies or sepia tones, the rules for good pictures are always shifting, reflecting new ways of thinking about ourselves and our place in the visual world.
Graphic Design Visionaries
by
Featuring 75 of the world's most influential designers, this book presents the story of graphic design through the fascinating personal stories and significant works that have shaped the field. Arranged in chronological order, the book shows the development of design, from early innovators such as Edward McKnight Kauffer and Alexey Brodovitch to key figures of mid-century Swiss Design and corporate American branding. The book profiles masters of typography, such as Wim Crouwel and Neville Brody; visionary magazine designers, such as Leo Lionni and Cipe Pineles; designers who influenced the world of film, such as Saul Bass and Robert Brownjohn; and the creators of iconic poster work, such as Armin Hofmann, Rogério Duarte and Yusaku Kamekura. Combining insightful text and key visual examples, this is a dynamic and richly illustrated guide to the individuals whose vision has defined the world of graphic design.
Selling Women's History: Packaging Feminism in Twentieth-Century American Popular Culture
by
Only in recent decades has the American academic profession taken women's history seriously. But the very concept of women's history has a much longer past, one that's intimately entwined with the development of American advertising and consumer culture. Selling Women's History reveals how, from the 1900s to the 1970s, popular culture helped teach Americans about the accomplishments of their foremothers, promoting an awareness of women's wide-ranging capabilities. On one hand, Emily Westkaemper examines how this was a marketing ploy, as Madison Avenue co-opted women's history to sell everything from Betsy Ross Red lipstick to Virginia Slims cigarettes. But she also shows how pioneering adwomen and female historians used consumer culture to publicize histories that were ignored elsewhere. Their feminist work challenged sexist assumptions about women's subordinate roles. Assessing a dazzling array of media, including soap operas, advertisements, films, magazines, calendars, and greeting cards, Selling Women's History offers a new perspective on how early- and mid-twentieth-century women saw themselves. Rather than presuming a drought of female agency between the first and second waves of American feminism, it reveals the subtle messages about women's empowerment that flooded the marketplace.
The Thames and Hudson Dictionary of Graphic Design and Designers
by
The interaction of words and images and the visual communicationof ideas are an essential part of daily life, and these concepts are atthe heart of graphic design.With over 200 new and updated entries, this indispensable book providesinformation about typographers, journals, movements and styles,organizations and schools, printers and private presses, art directors, technologicaladvances, design studios, graphic illustrators, and poster artistsfrom the mid-nineteenth century to the present day. More than 550 illustrations,extensive cross-references, and a chronological chart outliningthe relationship between movements, technology, and individual designersmake this an invaluable reference for students and professionals alike.
The Violence of the Image: Photography and International Conflict
by
Photography has visualized international relations and conflicts from the midnineteenth century onwards and continues to be an important medium in framing the worlds of distant, suffering others. Although photojournalism has been challenged in recent decades, claims that it is dead are premature. The Violence of the Image examines the roles of image producers and the functions of photographic imagery in the documentation of wars, violent conflicts and human rights issues; tackling controversial ideas such as 'witnessing', the making of appeals based on displays of human suffering and the much-cited concept of 'compassion fatigue'. In the twenty-first century, the advent of digital photography, camera phones and socialmedia platforms has altered the relationship between photographers, the medium and the audience- as well as contributing to an ongoing blurring of the boundaries between news and entertainment and professional and amateur journalism. The Violence of the Image explores how new vernacular and artistic modes of photographic production articulate international friction.This innovative, timely book makes a major contribution to discussions about the power of the image in conflict.