To start your research, check the research guide "Research Process Tutorial."
If you know the subject area of your topic, use a relevant reference resource such as a subject-specific encyclopedia. Credo Reference is an electronic reference database with an array of encyclopedias on various topics. In addition to subject-specific encyclopedias, background information can also be found in:
- Textbooks
- Dictionaries
- Article databases
- Wikipedia (check for bibliographies at the end of the article where you can find additional sources of information)
For print or electronic books, use the PTC Library Catalog or search eBooks.
There are two options to find articles.
Library databases provide access to articles published in scholarly or trade journals, magazines, and newspapers. Listed in alphabetical order, databases can be searched by subject or type. Select the A-Z database list.
Also, you can search for articles in the Online Catalog. Select the Advanced Search option, limit your search criteria to Articles and Other E-Resources and select Articles under Material Type.
In case the Library's homepage is down, please contact us via Ask-a-Librarian Chat 24/7 .
You can also search for scholarly articles via Google Scholar.
Google Advanced Search allows you to search for credible web sites more efficiently. Once in the Advanced Search, you can limit to a domain depending on the topic.
•.gov - government agencies and departments (most reliable)
•.org - organizations and associations (some are biased and promote a specific agenda)
•.edu - university or college websites (usually reliable)
•.com - professional blogs and websites (some are biased and used for promotion)
For more information, see the Evaluating Web Sources guide.
To improve your search strategies, check the research guide "Research Process Tutorial".
Also, view the video "Online Research: Tips For Effective Search Strategies"
For source evaluation, check the Evaluating Sources section of the Research Process Tutorial.
To cite sources in APA format, use the APA Style 7th edition.
To cite sources in MLA format, use the MLA Style 9th edition.
Do Use Wikipedia
- as a starting point for research, but be sure to check the reliability of the page and cited sources
- when trying to discover more search terms, keywords, or linked topics for your research
- maintain a certain level of skepticism when reviewing a Wikipedia article
- check the reliability of the sources of the article you are reading
Do Not Use Wikipedia
- cite Wikipedia as a source
- take all the information on Wikipedia as fact
To learn more, watch the video “How to Use Wikipedia Wisely” created by the Stanford History Education Group (SHEG) based in Stanford’s Graduate School of Education.