Choosing your Topic - ENG 101 - English Composition I - LibGuides at Piedmont Technical College

What is a good topic?

A good topic is a manageable topic that you can thoughtfully and thoroughly address within the length of your assignment. A manageable topic generally consists of 2 to 3 concepts.

Characteristics of a Good Topic:

Not too broad or narrow
- The topic can be broken down into two to three important concepts.
- A search produces a manageable amount of results that are easy to organize into a coherent paper.
Research exists on it
- Others have investigated the topic before.
- Enough time has elapsed for research to be published on the topic.
- It's an academic topic that would interest scholarly researchers.
Matches scope and requirements of your assignment
- Determine how many resources are necessary.
- Make sure your topic addresses the areas outlined in your assignment.

Find Topics in the Opposing Viewpoints Database

Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Resource for viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to websites.

Click on 'Browse Issues' to find overviews of topics suitable for an argumentative analysis essay. This is also a great place to find sources on those topics!

Find Topics in Newsbank Databases

NewsBank Access World News

Includes both current and archived international, national, regional, and local news content from more than 14,300 sources spanning 200+ countries and territories (backfiles begin in the 1980s).
NewsBank Black Life in America
Offering balanced coverage from diverse sources published from 1704 through present day, this primary source collection offers multiple perspectives on the people, issues, and events that shaped and continue to influence America’s conversation about race, equity and diversity. This database is updated daily and is sourced from more than 19,000 U.S. and global news sources, including 400 African American publications.
NewsBank Hispanic Life in America
Provides comprehensive coverage of the Hispanic American experience from the early 18th century to the present day. Sourced from more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals
NewsBank South Carolina News Sources

Provides access to selected, or in some cases all, content from over 115 South Carolina newspapers and other news sources from around the state. Includes some content from the following PTC area papers: The Edgefield Advertiser, The Index-Journal, The Newberry Observer, Saluda Standard Sentinel.

ENG 101 - English Composition I: Choosing your Topic

What is a good topic?

Characteristics of a Good Topic:

Find Topics in the Opposing Viewpoints Database

Find Topics in Newsbank Databases