Use the library's online catalog link or the Catalog widget below to search for books, both print and electronic copies. The catalog also contains titles for DVDs, CDs, as well as other audiovisual and electronic resources.
If you have questions or need assistance, please email or talk to a librarian via selecting the tab Ask-a-Librarian and using the chat widget.
Catalog Quick Search:
Each book in the library has a unique call number.
A call number is like an address: it tells us where the book is located in the library.
Call numbers appear on the spines of books and journals and in the library's catalog.
Books with medicine and Nursing subjects are arranged in the following categories:
R - Medicine
RT - Nursing
Browse Books by Subject in the online catalog:
If you need a book that the library does not have, the following services are available to help you get it:
Cardiac Nursing by
Awarded Third Place in the 2021 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Critical Care/Emergency, and 5-Star Review from Doody's Review Service Need to develop strong cardiac nursing skills or advance your practice to a higher level? The newly updated Cardiac Nursing, 7th Edition is the gold standard reference and on-the-unit resource, offering crucial guidance and direction for nurses looking to provide up-to-date, evidence-based cardiac care. Designed for both new and experienced nurses, this is top-level, expert direction on developing care plans, performing assessments, interpreting labs, diagnosis, and more, making this the vital road map to safe, positive cardiac patient outcomes. Delve into the seasoned expertise of this primary reference for cardiac nursing: NEW and updated easy-to-read content that reflects the newest developments and best practices in cardiac nursing NEW chapters include: Women and Heart Disease; Palliative Care in Cardiology; Quality, Economics and Policy in Cardiovascular Care; and Advanced Practice Cardiac Nursing NEW four-color design aids visual comprehension Chapter features include: Objectives, Clinical Questions and Key Questions, Key Takeaways, Case-Based Learning, ready-to-reference tables, figures, algorithms, and more Case Studies in each chapter - assist in developing critical thinking and clinical decision-making Checklists for basic cardiac care skills - taking accurate blood pressure measurement, developing care plans, patient teaching, and more Quick-reference tables that emphasize important concepts Lists the Standards of Cardiovascular Nursing Practice - assessment, diagnosis, outcomes Identification, planning, coordination of care, health promotion, consultation, ethics, and more Sections offer specific guidance on different aspects of care: Fundamentals of Cardiac Nursing - includes cardiac anatomy and physiology, systemic and pulmonary circulation and oxygen delivery, regulation of cardiac output and blood pressure Evaluation of the Heart and Heart Disease - includes history and physical exam, lab studies, radiologic exam, electrocardiography and cardiac rhythm, cardiac stress testing, and more Risk Assessment and Prevention of Heart Disease - includes psychosocial risk factors, obesity overview, exercise and activity, smoking cessation and effective treatment, hypertension, diabetes and more Pathophysiology and Management of Heart Disease - includes ischemic heart disease, peripheral vascular disease, valvular heart disease, adult congenital heart disease, cardiac arrhythmias, and more Expanding the role of the Cardiac Nurse - therapeutic intervention; disease management; global and population health; quality, policy and economics of cardiovascular care; leadership and team-based care Excellent teaching tool for training new cardiac nurses About the Clinical Editors Elizabeth Perpetua, DNP, ACNP-BC, ANP-BC, AACC, is Founder of Empath Health Services LLC and Adjunct Professor for Seattle Pacific University School of Health Sciences and School of Nursing in Seattle, Washington. Patricia Keegan, DNP, NP-C, AACC, is Director of Strategic and Programmatic Initiatives for Emory Heart and Vascular, and the Lead Nurse Practitioner at the Structural Heart and Valve Center for Emory Healthcare in Atlanta, Georgia. She is also Adjunct Faculty at the Nell Hodgson Woodruff School of Nursing at Emory University.
Community and Public Health Nursing by
Approachable and tailored to today''s active learners, Community and Public Health Nursing: Promoting the Public''s Health, 10th Edition presents an engaging introduction to population-focused care, helping students broaden their viewpoints from the client-nurse relationship to a community healthcare focus. This highly visual, student-friendly text incorporates bulleted lists, infographics, and a plethora of meaningful real-life examples and case studies to facilitate a foundational understanding of public health principles and evidence-based practice. The 10th edition continues to highlight the relevance of population-focused tools and interventions to acute care as well as community and public health settings, and to equip students with the skills and understanding to confidently promote health, foster disease prevention, and protect at-risk populations. Covering a multitude of commonly encountered community and public settings, situations, and populations -- including older adults, homeless populations, veterans, refugees, and the LGBTQ community -- this updated edition has been extensively revised and reorganized to familiarize students with today''s most prominent public health issues and empower them to provide the most effective nursing care wherever they may choose to practice. UPDATED! New and revised content throughout reflects the growing need for effective community-based care across the changing healthcare landscape. UPDATED! Streamlined organization emphasizes Healthy People 2030 framework and goals and keeps students focused on essential trends and concepts. NEW! Ten Essential Public Health Services content incorporated into Active Learning Exercises encourages students to consider situations/questions within this critical context. UPDATED! Emphasis on vulnerable groups throughout the text alerts students to specific considerations in the care of diverse population groups, including older adults, veterans, refugees, homeless populations, and the LGBTQ community. Evidence-Based Practice features familiarize students with current research examples and their effective application in community/public health nursing practice. Stories from the Field boxes present real-world scenarios that emphasize the nursing process and challenge students to consider assessment and intervention in a public health context. Levels of Prevention Pyramid boxes enhance students'' understanding of the levels of prevention concepts that are basic to community health nursing. Healthy People 2030 content highlights pertinent goals and objectives for health promotion for specific populations. Perspectives features immerse students in various viewpoints to promote critical thinking, dispel commonly held misconceptions, and emphasize the link between skills learned in specialty practice and other practice settings. What Do YOU Think? features push students to think deeply and reach valuable conclusions on subject matter unique to public health. QSEN: Focus on Quality features alert you to Quality and Safety Education for Nurses concepts related to environmental health and disasters, patient-centered care (family/community; empowerment), teamwork/collaboration (communication; system barriers), EBP/QI/ethics and data (e.g., tracking the homeless). Population Focus features strengthen your ability to consider chapter concepts from a population-focused perspective. C/PHN Use of the Nursing Process boxes allow students to see how assessment, diagnosis, planning, intervention, and evaluation are used within the context of community/public health situations as presented in selected chapters. Active Learning Exercises offer essential practice applying chapter concepts to actively solving community health problems. Learning Objectives and Key Terms focus students'' attention on essential concepts and vocabulary. Summaries provide a concise, bulleted review of preceding chapter content. References at the end of each chapter expand students'' knowledge through current research and a broad base of authoritative information sources.
Essentials of Nursing Critically Ill Adults by
An essential guide to critical care nursing that includes all the key scientific knowledge and procedures you will need to know when entering the critical care environment.Written by a dedicated team of lecturers and practitioners with extensive experience in critical care nursing, this textbook covers all the key elements involved in nursing critically ill adults, with individual chapters on managing problems associated with different organ systems and the pathophysiology behind these disorders. It also features coverage of psychological care and infection prevention, and includes a consistent focus on the importance of a person centred, evidence-based approach to critical care delivery.To further support your learning, the book is full of activities that enhance your knowledge and test your understanding, including clinical case studies, critical thinking tasks, and reflective practice exercises. For lecturers and instructors, there is a collection of online resources including a testbank of multiple-choice questions, links to relevant videos for each chapter, and PowerPoint slides for each chapter.The ideal textbook for nursing students studying critical care, undertaking clinical placements in intensive care, or nurses new to the critical care environment.
Fast Facts about LGBTQ+ Care for Nurses by
Awarded third place in the 2022 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Professional Issues Fills a crucial need in helping nurses to provide safe, culturally-competent care to LGBTQ+ patients This pivotal resource--the first written specifically for nurses--focuses on the unique health needs and inequities affecting LGBTQ+ patients and discusses how to provide them with safe, respectful, and holistic care. Written in an easy-access bulleted format with concise paragraphs, this book sets the stage by examining the background and history of the LGBTQ+ population and focusing on the health disparities that set them apart. It addresses the nursing implications and care of LGBTQ+ patients in all practice settings, highlighting transgender medical, surgical, and mental health. To help nurses create inclusive environments, chapters cover best practices and strategies for appropriate communication and define key terms nurses should know when obtaining patient history, performing an assessment, and delivering overall care. Fast Facts About LGBTQ+ Care delivers resources to help nurses create and sustain changes within their practice and beyond. A multitude of case studies demonstrate the importance of collecting gender identity in the electronic health record and span a variety of scenarios nurses are likely to encounter. Key Features: Fills a critical need in the nursing literature on providing safe and culturally competent care for LGBTQ+ patients Illuminates communication best practices and terminology to help nurses feel comfortable caring for LGBTQ+ patients Features "Fast Facts" boxes and abundant case studies that highlight essential information Covers developing and integrating LGBTQ+ content into nursing education Includes tips and guides to promote advocacy for the LBGTQ+ population
Fast Facts in Health Informatics for Nurses by
"Provides a broad overview of informatics knowledge to empower nurses to be thoughtful and participate in the capture, storage, and use of data to create information and knowledge to optimize patient outcomes.
Learning Disability Nursing by
Explores all aspects of professional development in learning disability nursing from the foundations to advanced practice. Key themes running through the book include the importance of a human rights and values-based approach, the development of person-centred approaches to care and support, and the need to work in partnership with key stakeholders, including people with learning disabilities and their families. It encourages readers to make links between theory and practice and to develop their skills in critical thinking through case studies and reflective activities. This is a must-have book for all undergraduate nurses studying to become Registered Nurses (Learning Disability), specifically linked to achieving the outcomes required within the NMC Standards for Nurse Education (2018). It is also of relevance to qualified learning disability nurses, those studying to become Registered Nurses (Intellectual Disabilities) in Ireland, as well as nursing students in general who should have a good working knowledge of learning disability practice.
Lippincott Q&a Review for NCLEX-RN by
This book is designed to help pre-licensure nursing students prepare to take the licensing exam and has more than 6,000 questions reviewing the four major content areas of pre-licensure programs: obstetrics, pediatrics, medical-surgical, and mental health nursing. Additionally, it includes six exams to provide students a realistic example of the NCLECX-RN test.
Medical-Surgical Nursing by
Master the essential medical-surgical nursing content you''ll need for success on the Next Generation NCLEX® Exam (NGN) and safe clinical practice! Medical-Surgical Nursing: Concepts for Interprofessional Collaborative Care, 10th Edition uses a conceptual approach to provide adult health knowledge and help you develop the clinical nursing judgment skills that today''s medical-surgical nurses need to deliver safe, effective care.
Nursing Care Plans by
Get everything you need to create and customize effective nursing care plans, now with evidence-based ICNP® diagnoses! Covering the most common medical-surgical nursing diagnoses and clinical problems, Gulanick & Myers' Nursing Care Plans: Diagnoses, Interventions, and Outcomes, 10th Edition features more than 200 care plans, each reflecting the latest evidence-based guidelines and national and international treatment protocols. It also features highlighted QSEN competencies and a clear differentiation of nursing and collaborative interventions. New to this edition are ICNP® diagnoses, care plans on LGBTQ health issues and on electrolytes and acid-base balance, and a new Online Care Planner that makes it easier than ever to customize care plans. Written by noted educators Meg Gulanick and Judith L. Myers, this #1 care planning book will help you learn to think like a nurse! 61 patient problem care plans include the most common/important patient problems, providing the building blocks for you to create your own individualized care plans. 164 disorder care plans cover virtually every common medical-surgical condition, organized by body system. Patient problem care plan format includes a definition/explanation of the diagnosis, related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions. Disorder care plan format covers synonyms for the disorder (for ease in cross referencing), a definition, common related factors, defining characteristics, expected outcomes, ongoing assessment, and therapeutic interventions for each relevant nursing diagnosis. Prioritized care planning guidance internally organizes care plans from "actual" to "risk" diagnoses, from general to specific interventions, and from independent to collaborative/interprofessional interventions, to help you select the most important, priority interventions for your particular patients. NEW! Updated care plans are now based on the evidence-based, complete, and internationally accepted International Classification of Nursing Practice (ICNP®) nursing diagnoses. NEW! 19 all-new care plans are featured in this edition. NEW! Updated content throughout reflects the most current evidence-based practice and national and international guidelines. NEW! Online Care Planner on the Evolve website allows you to easily generate customized care plans based on the book's content. NEW! Improved focus on core content includes several care plans that have been moved from the book's Evolve website.
Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students by
Find the information you need to administer drugs safely, accurately, and professionally! Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 15th Edition provides concise profiles of more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs, including the drugs most recently approved by the FDA. Each drug monograph includes clear guidelines to dosing, administration, and the nursing process, so you'll always be sure that you're practicing medication safety. What sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, IV drugs, and the similarities and differences in common classes of drugs. From well-known pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this drug guide has been trusted by nursing students for more than 25 years! More than 4,000 generic and trade-name drugs are profiled, covering almost every drug students will administer in practice or in clinicals. Alphabetical organization by generic name provides quick and easy access to specific drugs, and a full-color design highlights important information. Nursing Process steps are used as the framework for organizing all nursing care information. Black Box Warnings provide alerts to FDA warnings of dangerous or life-threatening drug reactions. High Alert headings indicate drugs that pose the great risk if administered improperly. Additional drug monographs on the Evolve websiteprovide information on the most recently approved drugs. Individual drug monographs include generic name, pronunciation, functional and chemical classification, do-not-confuse drug names, action, therapeutic outcome, uses, unlabeled uses, pharmacokinetics/pharmacodynamics, contraindications, precautions, dosages and routes, adverse effects, interactions (including drug/herb, drug/food and lab test), nursing considerations, black box warnings, patient/family education, and treatment of overdose. Drug Categories sections promote the safe administration of common classes of drugs, explaining the similarities and differences among drugs in the same functional class including their common side effects and interactions. Common and life-threatening side effects are organized by body system, showing signs to watch for during assessments. Coverage of IV drug administration highlights dosage and IV administration instructions, including safety considerations and Y-site, syringe, and additive compatibilities. Complete pharmacokinetic information includes the mechanism and absorption of the drug, as well as its action, duration, and excretion. Photo atlas of drug administration includes full-color illustrations showing physical landmarks and administration techniques used for IV and other drugs. Cross-references indicate drug information that may be found in the appendixes. Flexible, water-resistant cover provides durability in the clinical setting. NEW! Updated content covers the latest information on drug dosages, adverse effects, Black Box Warnings, nursing considerations, patient education, drug research, and more.
Timby's Fundamental Nursing Skills and Concepts by
Timby's Fundamental Nursing Skills and Concepts continues the tradition of excellent coverage of basic nursing theory and clinical skills.
Search Credo Reference for Nursing to learn about nursing theories, history, and career specialties in nursing.
McGraw-Hill's Nursing Spanish Visual Phrasebook by
Communicate immediately with Spanish-speaking patientssimply by turning the page As a nurse, you need to be prepared for anything. But what if that anything is a language barrier with your Spanish-speaking patients? McGraw-Hill's NursingSpanish Visual Phrasebook helps you overcome thisdifficulty and understand your patients' needs. With no experience in the language, you can find out the due date of an expectant mother; review a young child's medical history; let an elderly man know you are starting an IV; and reassure a worried parent that an interpreter is on the way. McGraw-Hill's Nursing Spanish Visual Phrasebookworks in three easy steps: Point to each question. Patient responds with a simple head nod, with a "yes" or "no" answer, or by pointing to a diagram. Continue using the phrasebook to assist withpatient assessment. Just point and flip, and you can close the communication gap between you and your Spanish-speaking patients.
McGraw Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium Fourth Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Learn to communicate directly with your Spanish-speaking patients, with the most comprehensive Spanish medical language guide available--now updated and enhanced with more streaming audio of dialogues and specialized medical vocabulary McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish is the most comprehensive guide available for medical practitioners wishing to speak directly with Spanish-speaking patients--to interview, conduct exams, and provide follow-up instructions--and requires no prior knowledge of the Spanish language. Each chapter of this bestselling program features vocabulary, key phrases, dialogues based on common medical situations, and exercises that reinforce your understanding and build confidence. Upon completion, you'll be able to communicate about and address: chief complaints; giving instructions; common symptoms; qualifying and quantifying pain; emergency room issues; illnesses and medical history; neurological exams; tests for blood, urine, sputum, and skin; prenatal instructions and well-baby visits; emergency-room visits; abdominal pain; trips to the dentist's office; STDs; high blood pressure; diabetes; monthly breast self-examinations; myocardial infarction; cross-cultural communication, and much more. Proven to be effective in building language proficiency for a wide range of medical situations, this guide is ideal for helping you increase your patients' comfort and provide optimal care. McGraw-Hill's Complete Medical Spanish, Premium 4th Edition features: * Sets of flashcards for all the vocabulary lists in the book * More than 2,000 terms * Audio recordings of all the monologues and dialogues from the book, with hundreds of essential phrases and expressions * New sections on: bipolar disorder; behavioral health problems with children; ADHD, disability; pulmonary and respiratory information * New bilingual questionnaires on: women's health; oral health; sleep; CAGE alcohol and drugs
The Frontier Nursing Service by
There was a time when the average American woman was more likely to die from childbirth than from any other condition except tuberculosis. This was especially true in areas where hospitals and quality medical care were scarce or nonexistent. But deep in the rolling hills of eastern Kentucky's Cumberland Range, one woman almost single-handedly changed those dismal figures. Her name was Mary Breckinridge, and her goal was to introduce quality, professionally trained midwifery to the United States. The Frontier Nursing Service, opened in 1925 in Leslie County, Kentucky, set out to meet the health needs of women and infants in one of the poorest regions of America. This book tells the story of Breckinridge's unparalleled dedication to midwifery and provides a historical overview of the first 40 years of the Frontier Nursing Service.
Little Josephine: Memory in Pieces by
A first-hand account of the most unlikely friendship between a visiting nurse and her Alzheimer's patient, Josephine. When Valérie first met Josephine, she knew she would be embarking on a unique journey. Though vastly different in age, their connection was instantaneous. Humor quickly became their language, their playground, and despite the debilitating disease that Joséphine faced every single day, they were able to form a beautiful friendship that transcended the reaches of modern medicine.
Nightingales: The Extraordinary Life and Curious Upbringing of Miss Florence Nightingale by
Florence Nightingale was for a time the most famous woman in Britain–if not the world. We know her today primarily as a saintly character, perhaps as a heroic reformer of Britain’s health-care system. The reality is more involved and far more fascinating. In an utterly beguiling narrative that reads like the best Victorian fiction, acclaimed author Gillian Gill tells the story of this richly complex woman and her extraordinary family. Born to an adoring wealthy, cultivated father and a mother whose conventional facade concealed a surprisingly unfettered intelligence, Florence was connected by kinship or friendship to the cream of Victorian England’s intellectual aristocracy. Though moving in a world of ease and privilege, the Nightingales came from solidly middle-class stock with deep traditions of hard work, natural curiosity, and moral clarity. So it should have come as no surprise to William Edward and Fanny Nightingale when their younger daughter, Florence, showed an early passion for helping others combined with a precocious bent for power. Far more problematic was Florence’s inexplicable refusal to marry the well-connected Richard Monckton Milnes. As Gill so brilliantly shows, this matrimonial refusal was at once an act of religious dedication and a cry for her freedom–as a woman and as a leader. Florence’s later insistence on traveling to the Crimea at the height of war to tend to wounded soldiers was all but incendiary–especially for her older sister, Parthenope, whose frustration at being in the shade of her more charismatic sibling often led to illness. Florence succeeded beyond her wildest dreams. But at the height of her celebrity, at the age of thirty-seven, she retired to her bedroom and remained there for most of the rest of her life, allowing visitors only by appointment. Combining biography, politics, social history, and consummate storytelling, Nightingales is a dazzling portrait of an amazing woman, her difficult but loving family, and the high Victorian era they so perfectly epitomized. Beautifully written, witty, and irresistible, Nightingales is truly a tour de force. From the Hardcover edition.
Nursing the Nation: Building the Nurse Labor Force by
Modern health care cannot exist without professional nurses. Throughout the twentieth century, there was seldom a sustained period when the supply of nurses was equal to demand. Nursing the Nation offers a historical analysis of the relationship between the development of nurse employment arrangements with patients and institutions and the appearance of nurse shortages from 1890 to 1950. The response to nursing supply and demand problems by health care institutions and policy-making organizations failed to address nurse workforce issues adequately, and this failure resulted in, at times, profound and lengthy nurse shortages. Nurses also lost the ability to control their own destiny within health care institutions while nevertheless establishing themselves as the most critical part of health care provision today.